Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
13 November 2015
Red Meat and Processed Meat  

The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), the cancer agency of the World Health Organization (WHO), released an evaluation result about the carcinogenicity of the consumption of red meat and processed meat on 26 October 2015.

  • Processed meat (refers to meat that has been transformed through salting, curing, fermentation, smoking, or other processes to enhance flavour or improve preservation. Examples include ham, sausages and luncheon meat) was classified as “carcinogenic to humans” (Group 1), based on sufficient evidence in humans that the consumption of processed meat causes colorectal cancer. The experts concluded that each 50 gram portion of processed meat eaten daily increases the risk of colorectal cancer by 18%.
  • Red meat (refers to all mammalian muscle meat, including beef, pork and mutton) was classified as “probably carcinogenic to humans” (Group 2A), based on limited evidence that the consumption of red meat causes cancer in humans and strong mechanistic evidence supporting a carcinogenic effect. This association was observed mainly for colorectal cancer, but associations were also seen for pancreatic cancer and prostate cancer.
  • The risk of developing colorectal cancer for an individual because of their consumption of processed meat remains small, but this risk increases with the amount of meat consumed.

The IARC classifications describe the strength of the scientific evidence about an agent being a cause of cancer, rather than assessing the level of risk. Processed meat and tobacco smoking have been classified in the same category as causes of cancer (Group 1, carcinogenic to humans), but this does NOT mean that they are equally dangerous. About 34 000 cancer deaths per year worldwide are attributable to diets high in processed meat. These numbers contrast with about 1 million cancer deaths per year globally due to tobacco smoking.

WHO issued a statement on 29 October reiterated that WHO’s 2002 “Diet, nutrition and the prevention of chronic diseases” report advised people to moderate consumption of preserved meat to reduce the risk of cancer. The IARC’s review confirms the recommendation in the report. The latest IARC review does not ask people to stop eating processed meats but indicates that reducing consumption of these products can reduce the risk of colorectal cancer.

Principles of Healthy Eating

A healthy balanced diet is a dietary pattern having grains as the largest portion of food, a lot of vegetables and fruit, and a moderate consumption of milk, meat and their alternatives.

In our daily diet, we should choose food items that are low in fat/oil, salt and sugar and high in dietary fibre. Therefore, it is recommended to have at least five servings of fruit and vegetables a day and to reduce the intake of processed meat as it is considered as high in fat/oil and salt.

Moreover, the healthy eating principles also emphasise on having a variety of food, i.e. choosing different kinds of food. Apart from red meat, meat and alternatives also include poultry, fish and seafood, eggs, dry bean and soy products.

Practical Tips on Meal Arrangement and Meal Provision

  • For sectors arranging or providing meals to the pre-primary institutions, it is recommended to follow the healthy eating principles as well as to avoid providing processed meat. For details, please refer to the “Nutrition Guidelines for Children Aged 2 to 6”.
  • For sectors arranging or providing meals to the primary and secondary schools, it is recommended to follow the healthy eating principles as well as to limit the provision of processed meat for no more than two school days a week as it is classified as “Limited Food Items”. For details, please refer to the “Nutritional Guidelines on Lunch for Students”.
  • For other sectors involved in meal arrangement or with catering service, it is recommended to follow the healthy eating principles as well as to reduce the use of processed meat. Fresh/frozen lean meat and non-fried plain bean products are healthy alternatives. For details, please refer to the examples of healthier food ingredients and cooking methods.
  • For catering service in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly, healthy eating principles should be reinforced. It is advised to avoid providing foods with high salt, such as processed food like luncheon meat, barbecued pork. For details, please refer to the “Guidelines on Menu Planning for Residential Care Homes for the Elderly” (Chinese version only) .

 

For more information

 

Health Education Resources

 

Guidelines

 

Related links

 

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2015年11月13日
紅肉和加工肉製品  

世界衞生組織(下稱“世衞”)轄下的國際癌症研究機構於2015年10月26日發表對食用紅肉及加工肉製品的致癌性評價報告。

  • 加工肉製品(指經過鹽漬、風乾、發酵、燻製或其他爲增加口味或改善保存而處理過的肉類。例如火腿、香腸和午餐肉)被歸類為“對人類致癌”(1級)- 基於有“足夠證據”證明食用加工肉製品會導致人類患上結腸直腸(大腸)癌。有關專家估計每天食用50克加工肉製品,患上大腸癌的風險會提高18%。
  • 紅肉(指所有哺乳動物的肌肉,包括牛肉、豬肉和羊肉)則被歸類為“較可能對人類致癌”(2A級)- 基於 “有限的證據” 證明食用紅肉在人類中會引起癌症,並有“強有力的”機理證據支持其致癌作用。對這一關聯性的觀察主要涉及大腸癌,但與胰腺癌和前列腺癌也存在關聯。
  • 對個人來講,因食用加工肉製品而患上大腸癌的可能性依然很小,但隨著食用量的增多,風險也隨之增大。

國際癌症研究機構的分類指的是關於某一物質是否致癌的科學證據的力度,而不是評估風險水平。加工肉製品雖與吸煙歸類於同一類別(“對人類致癌”1級),但這並不意味著它們具有同樣的危險性。全世界每年大約有3.4萬例癌症死亡可能是飲食中含有大量加工肉製品導致的。相比之下,每年全球因吸煙造成大約100萬例癌症死亡。

世衞亦於10月29日發表聲明指出其於2002年題爲《膳食、營養和慢性疾病預防》的報告建議人們應適度食用保藏的肉製品,以減少癌症的風險。國際癌症研究機構經審查確認了這一建議。該機構的最新審查並沒有要求人們停止食用加工肉製品,而是指出減少食用可降低患上大腸癌風險。

健康飲食的原則

健康均衡飲食是一個以穀物類為主,多吃蔬菜水果、適量進食奶類、肉類及其代替品的飲食模式。

在日常飲食中應選擇低油鹽糖及高膳食纖維的食物,因此建議每日進食最少五份水果和蔬菜及減少食用加工肉製品,因其脂肪或鹽分較高。

此外,健康飲食原則亦強調食物的選擇要多元化,即選用不同的食物。肉類的選擇除紅肉外,還包括家禽、魚、海鮮、蛋、乾豆和黃豆製品。

有關膳食安排和膳食提供的實用資料

  • 對於為學前機構安排或提供膳食的界別,建議遵行健康飲食原則,並避免使用加工肉,詳情請參閱《二至六歲幼兒營養指引》
  • 對於為中、小學安排或提供膳食的界別,建議遵行健康飲食原則,並每週不多於兩個上課天向學生提供屬於限制供應類別的加工肉,詳情請參閱《學生午膳營養指引》
  • 對於其他參與安排或提供膳食的界別,建議遵行健康飲食原則,並減少使用加工肉。新鮮/急凍瘦肉和非油炸的豆製品都是健康的代替品。詳情請參閱較健康的食物及烹調方法例子
  • 安老院舍膳食供應方面,應謹守健康飲食原則,避免提供含高鹽的食物,如午餐肉、叉燒等加工食物。詳情請參閱《安老院舍膳食供應指南-餐單設計篇》

 

詳情

 

健康教育資源

 

指引

 

相關連結

 

友善列印 友善列印
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明