Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
20 April 2017
Listeriosis  

Causative agent

Listeriosis is caused by the bacterium Listeria monocytogenes which is commonly found in the natural environment (e.g. soil or water). The bacteria may also be found in some contaminated raw foods, such as vegetables and uncooked meats as well as unpasteurised milk. It is also found in processed foods that become contaminated during or after processing, such as soft cheese and cold cuts. Listeria monocytogenes is able to survive under low temperature, and can multiply in refrigerated food that has been contaminated. The bacteria can be killed by cooking.

Clinical features

A person with listeriosis usually presents with fever, headache, and sometimes gastrointestinal symptoms such as nausea, vomiting and diarrhoea. Some patients may develop severe complications such as meningoencephalitis or septicaemia. Pregnant women, newborns/infants, the elderly and persons with chronic diseases or weakened immunity are at higher risk of being infected. Pregnant women with listeriosis, though mostly develop mild symptoms only, may transmit the infection to their foetuses/newborns resulting in miscarriage, stillbirth, septicaemia or meningitis in the newborns.

Mode of transmission

Listeriosis is mainly caused by consumption of contaminated food. It may also be transmitted through placenta from mother to foetus, or through an infected birth canal to her newborn.

Incubation period

The incubation period may range from 3 - 70 days. On average symptoms occur 3 weeks after exposure to the bacteria.

Management

Patients with listeriosis often require hospitalisation and antibiotic is used to treat the infection.

Prevention

  • To prevent listeriosis, you should maintain good personal, food and environmental hygiene.
     
  • Proper food handling by applying 5 Keys to Food Safety, i.e. Choose (Choose safe raw materials); Clean (Keep hands and utensils clean); Separate (Separate raw and cooked food); Cook (Cook thoroughly); and Safe Temperature (Keep food at safe temperature), can help prevent listeriosis.
     
  • High-risk individuals, such as chronic disease patients, pregnant women, infants, the elderly and people with weaker immune system should avoid eating high-risk foods. High risk food items for listeriosis include refrigerated ready-to-eat food with a long shelf life (greater than 5 days) (e.g. smoked salmon, smoked ham, deli meats, cold-cuts), cheeses made from unpasteurised milk including some soft and semi-soft cheeses, pre-prepared and stored salads, etc.

* Please visit the website of Centre for Food Safety for more information on food safety.

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
e-Resources e-Resources
Related links
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2017年4月20日
李斯特菌病  

病原體

李斯特菌病是由李斯特菌引致,此病菌常見於自然環境(如泥土或水等)。李斯特菌亦可存在於受污染而未經煮熟的食物如蔬菜、生肉、以及未經巴士德消毒法處理的奶。加工食物如軟芝士、凍食肉類等食物,亦可能在製作過程受污染。李斯特菌能在低溫環境下生存,並可在受污染的冷藏食物中繁殖。烹煮過程能殺死李斯特菌。

病徵

患者通常會出現發燒、頭痛,有時會出現腸胃不適的病徵,如噁心、嘔吐及腹瀉等。部分患者或會出現嚴重併發症如腦膜腦炎或敗血症。孕婦、初生嬰兒、長者、長期病患者或免疫力較弱的人士受感染的風險較高。感染李斯特菌病的孕婦雖然一般症狀輕微,但可能會將病菌傳給胎兒/新生嬰兒,導致流產、胎兒夭折,或引致新生嬰兒患上敗血症或腦膜炎。

傳播途徑

李斯特菌病主要透過進食受污染的食物所引致。病菌亦可由母體經胎盤傳給胎兒或經受感染的產道傳給新生嬰兒。

潛伏期

潛伏期約為 3 - 70 天,病徵一般在感染後 3 星期出現。

治理方法

患者一般需要住院及接受抗生素治療。

預防方法

  • 要預防李斯特菌病,應保持良好個人、食物及環境衞生。
     
  • 處理食物時奉行食物安全五要點,即精明選擇(選擇安全的原材料)、保持清潔(保持雙手及用具清潔)、生熟分開(分開生熟食物)、煮熟食物(徹底煮熟食物)及安全溫度(把食物存放於安全溫度),可預防李斯特菌病。
     
  • 高危人士,包括長期病患者、孕婦、嬰兒、長者和免疫力較低的人士,應避免進食高風險食品。李斯特菌病的高風險食品包括保質期較長(超過5天)的冷凍即食食品(例如煙燻三文魚、煙燻火腿、已經煮熟的凍食肉類等)、以未經巴士德消毒的奶類製成的芝士(包括部分軟芝士和半軟芝士)及預製或預先包裝沙律等。

*請瀏覽食物安全中心網頁,以獲得更多有關食物安全的資訊。

友善列印 友善列印
網上資源 網上資源
相關連結
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明