Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
6 November 2017
West Nile Virus Infection  

Causative agent

West Nile Virus (WNV) belongs to the family Flaviviridae. WNV is commonly found in Africa, Europe, the Middle East, West Asia and recently North America. WNV is mainly transmitted between birds and mosquitoes. Humans, horses and other mammals can also be infected.

Clinical features

Most people who become infected have no symptoms at all, and about 20% may develop symptoms of fever, headache, body ache, nausea, vomiting, and sometimes swollen lymph glands or skin rash. Less than 1% of infected patients will develop severe disease such as inflammation of the brain (encephalitis) and/ or inflammation of the membrane around the brain and spinal cord (meningitis). These patients may have symptoms of high fever, headache, stiff neck, disorientation, muscle weakness, convulsion and coma. Elderly are at a higher risk of developing severe infection.

Incubation period

The incubation period is usually 3 – 14 days.

Mode of transmission

The infection is primarily transmitted by the bite of an infected mosquito, principally the Culex species mosquitoes. Mosquitoes become infected when they feed on infected birds. These infected mosquitoes can then spread the virus to humans and other animals during feeding. It is not transmitted from person-to-person through close contact. There have also been reports that the virus spread through blood transfusion, organ transplantation, breastfeeding and from mother-to-baby during pregnancy.

Management

There is no specific treatment for WNV infection. In patients with severe disease, intensive supportive therapy may be indicated. The fatality rate among cases with neuro-invasive illness was about 4 – 14 %.

Prevention

Currently, there is no human WNV vaccine. In the absence of an effective vaccine, preventive measures against mosquito breeding and avoidance of mosquito bites remain the main strategy to prevent from contracting the disease.

Travellers to areas with WNV outbreak should take measures to prevent mosquito bites. These include avoiding going outdoors from dusk till dawn when the mosquitoes are most active.

General measures on preventing mosquito-borne diseases

  1. Wear loose, light-coloured, long-sleeved tops and trousers, and use DEET-containing insect repellent on exposed parts of the body and clothing.
     
  2. Take additional preventive measures when engaging in outdoor activities:
  • Avoid using fragrant cosmetics or skin care products
  • Re-apply insect repellents according to instructions
  • Treat clothing and gears (such as tents, bed nets) with permethrin (an insecticide). Do NOT use permethrin directly on skin
  1. Travellers who return from affected areas and feel unwell, e.g. run a fever, should seek medical advice promptly, and provide travel details to doctor

Help prevent mosquito proliferation

  1. Prevent accumulation of stagnant water
  • Change the water in vases once a week
  • Clear the water in the saucers under potted plants every week
  • Cover water containers tightly
  • Ensure air-conditioner drip trays are free of stagnant water
  • Put all used cans and bottles into covered dustbins
  1. Control vectors and reservoir of the diseases
  • Store food and dispose of garbage properly

Pregnant women and children of 6 months or older can use DEET-containing insect repellent. For details about the use of insect repellents and the key points to be observed, please refer to 'Tips for using insect repellents'.

For more information about control and prevention of mosquito breeding, please visit the website of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) at http://www.fehd.gov.hk/english/safefood/handbook_prev_mos_breeding.html

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
e-Resources e-Resources
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2017年11月6日
西尼羅河病毒感染  

病原體

西尼羅河病毒是屬於黃病毒科的其中一種。西尼羅河病毒常見於非洲、歐洲、中東、西亞,及北美等地區。病毒主要在鳥和蚊子之間傳播。人類、馬和其他哺乳動物都可能被感染。

病徵

大部分感染西尼羅河病毒的人可能完全沒有病徵,其餘20%的患者可能出現發燒、頭痛、身體疼痛、噁心、嘔吐、淋巴腺腫脹或皮膚出現紅疹等徵狀。少於1%病患者會出現嚴重疾病。情況嚴重的可能會導致腦炎及/或腦膜炎。這些病患者可能出現發高燒、頭痛、頸部僵硬、神志不清、肌肉乏力、痙攣和昏迷等徵狀。年長的病患者感染嚴重疾病的機會較高。

潛伏期

西尼羅河病毒的潛伏期一般為 3 - 14 天。

傳播途徑

西尼羅河病毒主要是由帶有病毒的病媒蚊(主要為庫蚊)而傳播的。當病媒蚊叮咬帶病毒的野生雀鳥而受感染後,再叮咬人類或動物時便會將病毒傳播。此病毒不會透過人與人之間的緊密接觸而傳播,但有研究報告指出,病毒可通過輸血或器官移植而傳播;而受感染的母親亦可能於懷孕或哺乳時將病毒傳給嬰兒。

治理方法

現時沒有特別方法治療由西尼羅河病毒所引發的疾病。情況嚴重時,患者可能需要接受深切治療。神經感染性西尼羅河病毒感染患者的死亡率約為 4 - 14%。

預防方法

直至現時為止仍然沒有疫苗能有效預防西尼羅河病毒,而有關研究仍在進行中。在缺乏有效疫苗的情況下,防止蚊子滋生及避免被蚊子叮咬是預防感染西尼羅河病毒的主要方法。

準備前往西尼羅河病毒爆發地區的人士,應做足預防被蚊子叮咬的措施。蚊子於黃昏至黎明時分最為活躍,因此這段時間應避免外出。

預防蚊子傳播的疾病的方法

  1. 穿著寬鬆、淺色的長袖上衣及長褲,並於外露的皮膚及衣服塗上含避蚊胺(DEET)成分的昆蟲驅避劑。
     
  2. 採取其他關於戶外的預防措施:
  • 避免使用有香味的化妝品或護膚品
  • 依照指示重複使用昆蟲驅避劑
  • 將氯菊酯(一種殺蟲劑)加在衣服和用品表面,例如帳篷、蚊帳。切勿將氯菊酯直接塗在皮膚上
  1. 旅遊人士從受影響地區回來後若感到身體不適,如發燒,應盡快求醫,並將行程細節告知醫生

 防止蚊蟲滋長

  1. 防止積水
  • 每星期為花瓶換水一次
  • 每星期清理花盆底下的積水
  • 緊蓋貯水器皿上
  • 確保冷氣機底盤沒有積水
  • 把用完的罐子及瓶子放進有蓋的垃圾箱內
  1. 避免蚊蟲滋生
  • 應妥善存放食物及處理垃圾

孕婦及6個月或以上的兒童可以使用含避蚊胺成分的昆蟲驅避劑,關於使用昆蟲驅避劑的詳情和須注意的要點,請參閱「使用昆蟲驅避劑的注意事項」。

有關更多防治蚊子滋生的資料,請瀏覽食物環境衞生署網頁:http://www.fehd.gov.hk/tc_chi/safefood/handbook_prev_mos_breeding.html

友善列印 友善列印
網上資源 網上資源
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明