Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
11 August 2017
Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli infection   

Causative agent

Escherichia coli (E. coli) is a bacterium that is commonly found in the gut of humans and warm-blooded animals. Most strains of E. coli are harmless. Some strains, however, such as Shiga toxin-producing E. coli (STEC), can produce powerful toxins and cause severe foodborne disease. The most recognised serogroup of STEC is E.coli O157:H7. Other strains e.g. E. coli O104:H4 may also cause serious disease and outbreaks.

Clinical features

Symptoms of STEC infection include abdominal cramps and diarrhoea that may in some cases progress to bloody diarrhoea. Fever and vomiting may also occur. In serious cases, the infection may lead to a life-threatening complication named haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS) which is a type of kidney failure. People of any age can become infected. Very young children and the elderly are more likely to develop severe illness, but even healthy older children and young adults can become seriously ill.

Mode of transmission

STEC is transmitted to humans primarily through consumption of contaminated foods, such as raw or undercooked ground meat products, contaminated fruits and vegetables, unpasteurised dairy products, contaminated water, and direct contact with animals or their environment. Direct person-to-person transmission through the faecal-oral route can also occur. Exposure to recreational water sources like swimming in contaminated water is also a route of infection.

Incubation period

Can range from about 2 – 10 days, usually 3 – 4 days

Management

Clinical management for STEC infection is usually supportive. Fluid and electrolyte replacement is important when there is severe diarrhoea. Patients with kidney failure may require specific supportive treatment and transfusion.

Prevention

Preventive measures for STEC infection are similar to those recommended for other foodborne diseases. Public are urged to observe good personal and food hygiene:

  • Adopt the 5 Keys to Food Safety in handling food, i.e. Choose (Choose safe raw materials); Clean (Keep hands and utensils clean); Separate (Separate raw and cooked food); Cook (Cook thoroughly); and Safe Temperature (Keep food at safe temperature) to prevent foodborne diseases.
  • Wash hands properly with liquid soap and water before handling food, after handling raw meat or poultry and before eating, and after going to toilet or changing diapers.
  • Cook food and boil water thoroughly before consumption. When cooking or reheating, the core temperature of the food should reach at least 75℃.
  • Avoid consumption of unpasteurised milk or undercooked food.
  • Consult your doctor immediately if you have symptoms of STEC infection, particularly bloody diarrhoea.
Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
e-Resources e-Resources
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2017年8月11日
產志賀毒素大腸桿菌感染  

病原體

大腸桿菌是一種普遍生存在人類和溫血動物腸道內的細菌。大多數大腸桿菌病菌株都屬無害。但某些病菌株,如產志賀毒素大腸桿菌,則能產生強烈毒素,並可引致由食物傳播的嚴重疾病。在眾多產志賀毒素大腸桿菌病菌株當中,最為人熟悉的是大腸桿菌O157:H7血清型,其他血清型的病菌株例如大腸桿菌O104:H4亦可引致嚴重疾病和爆發。

病徵

產志賀毒素大腸桿菌感染的病徵包括腹痛和腹瀉,甚至出血性腹瀉。而發燒和嘔吐亦可能出現。在嚴重個案中,可能會出現危及生命的溶血尿毒症的併發症,引致腎功能衰竭。任何年齡的人士均有可能受到感染。雖然幼童和長者會較易出現嚴重的病情,但即使是年紀較大的兒童及成年人亦可能出現嚴重感染。

傳播途徑

產志賀毒素大腸桿菌感染主要由進食或飲用受污染的食物,如生或未經煮熟的免治肉類、受污染的蔬果、未經消毒的奶類製品、受污染的水源等傳播給人類。另外,亦可透過直接接觸動物或其周圍的環境傳播。該病亦可透過糞口途徑在人與人之間直接傳播。水上活動如於受污染的水中游泳亦可能感染該病。

潛伏期

約為2 - 10天,一般是3 - 4天

治理方法

治療產志賀毒素大腸桿菌感染的主要方法是採用支援性治療。當患者出現嚴重腹瀉時,最重要的是補充失去的水分和礦物質。患者如出現腎功能衰竭,更可能需要特定的支援和輸血治療。

預防方法

預防產志賀毒素大腸桿菌感染的方法,跟其他預防食物傳播疾病相似。市民須注意個人及食物衞生:

  • 處理食物時應遵從食物安全五要點,即精明選擇(選擇安全的原材料)、保持清潔(保持雙手及用具清潔)、生熟分開(分開生熟食物)、煮熟食物(徹底煮熟食物)及安全溫度(把食物存放於安全溫度),藉以預防由食物傳播的疾病。
  • 處理食物前、處理生的肉類或家禽後和進食前都應該用梘液及清水洗淨雙手,如廁或更換尿片後亦應洗手。
  • 進食和飲用已徹底煮熟和煮沸的食物和食水。烹調或加熱食物時,須確保其核心溫度達至75°C或以上。
  • 避免進食未經消毒的牛奶或未經煮熟的食物。
  • 如出現產志賀毒素大腸桿菌感染病徵,特別是出血性腹瀉,應立即求醫。
友善列印 友善列印
網上資源 網上資源
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明