Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
8 January 2015
HIV Infection  

Causative agent

The infection is caused by Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV).

Clinical features

Most HIV infected persons look healthy and have no specific or obvious signs or symptoms during the early phase of infection. HIV attacks and destroys CD4 cells, the disease-fighting cells of the immune system. As the immune system is seriously damaged, the infected person is more vulnerable to certain cancers and a wide range of infections. These types of infections are known as opportunistic infections because they take advantage of a person’s weakened immune system. Without treatment, about half of the infected people will progress to AIDS (Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome) in 10 years’ time. AIDS is characterised by development of major clinical complications related to the underlying immunosuppression.

Mode of transmission

HIV is primarily found in the blood, semen, or vaginal fluid of an infected person. The most common ways that HIV is transmitted from one person to another are:

  • by having sex (vaginal, oral, or anal) with an HIV-infected person. In Hong Kong, about 80% of HIV positive people were infected through sexual contact;
  • by sharing needles, syringes or injection equipment with an injecting drug user who is infected with HIV;
  • from HIV-infected women to their babies before or during birth, or through breast-feeding after birth;
  • through receipt of infected blood or blood products.

HIV is not transmitted by day-to-day activities such as shaking hands, hugging, a kiss on the cheek, dining together, or sharing toilet seat. Besides, there is no evidence to show that mosquitoes can transmit HIV.

How is HIV infection diagnosed?

Most people with HIV do not look sick. It is impossible to tell if a person has the virus just by looking at, or talking to, him or her. A person has HIV can pass the virus to others even if he or she is asymptomatic. An HIV antibody test is a test that can tell whether or not a person has been infected by HIV.

Antibodies are usually produced by the body when the body is exposed to an infection. Antibodies are one of the body’s tools for fighting infections. The antibodies against HIV, however, are not protective in nature. HIV antibody testing is a blood test carried out to find out if one has contracted HIV.

If HIV antibodies are present, the test is positive. It means that the person is HIV-infected.

If the result of the test after the window period is negative, it means that the tested person is not infected.

What is Window Period?

Window period is the time between initial infection with HIV and when a positive test result occurs. The window period for HIV testing is 3 months. During the window period, the infected person can transmit the virus even though an HIV antibody test shows a negative result.

Management

As of now, there is no cure for AIDS, but medications are available and effective in fighting HIV and its complications. A number of drugs are available to prevent or treat the opportunistic infections and illnesses associated with advanced HIV disease. The use of antiretroviral therapy can effectively suppress HIV to undetectable levels in infected persons, and slow down the rate at which HIV weakens the immune system. HIV treatment is helping HIV-positive people to stay healthier longer. As with other diseases, early detection offers more options for treatment and preventive care.

Prevention

  1. If you have sex, always protect yourself and your partner by using a condom. Proper and consistent use of a condom for vaginal, oral and anal sex can reduce risk of HIV transmission. Maintaining a mutually monogamous relationship can reduce but not eliminate the risk of HIV infection, because there is no way to tell by looking at someone if he or she has HIV. Choose not to have sex if your partner refuses to use a condom.
  2. Don't use alcohol or drugs before you have sex. These substances can affect your judgment, making you less likely to protect yourself by using a condom.
  3. Do not share needles, syringes or any other injecting equipment.
  4. If you are pregnant or planning to be, get tested for HIV as soon as possible. Drug treatments are available to help you and reduce the chance of passing HIV to your baby if are infected.
Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
e-Resources e-Resources
Related links
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2015年1月8日
人類免疫力缺乏病毒感染(愛滋病病毒感染)  

病原體

人類免疫力缺乏病毒感染是由人類免疫力缺乏病毒所引起。這種病毒又稱為愛滋病病毒。

病徵

大部分受感染的人於初期並不會有任何特定或明顯的病徵,而且身體狀況與一般健康人士無異。愛滋病病毒進入人體後,會逐漸破壞免疫系統中負責抵禦外來感染的CD4淋巴細胞。當受感染者的免疫系統受到嚴重破壞後,便容易併發某些腫瘤及機會性感染。機會性感染是一些在愛滋病感染者的免疫能力下降時乘虛而入的感染,這些感染一般而言,對抵抗力正常人士都沒有威脅。後天免疫力缺乏症(愛滋病)是愛滋病病毒感染者因抵抗力下降,身體出現嚴重併發症的階段。若沒有接受治療,約一半受感染人士會於十年內發病成為愛滋病患者。

傳播途徑

愛滋病病毒主要存在於帶病毒者的血液、精液或陰道分泌內。病毒主要經由以下途徑傳播︰

  • 性接觸 - 與感染了愛滋病病毒的人士進行性行為,包括陰道性交、口交及肛交。在香港,大約八成的愛滋病病毒感染都是經由性接觸傳播的;
  • 與感染了愛滋病病毒的人共用針筒針咀或其他相關的器具注射毒品;
  • 母嬰接觸 - 受感染的婦女在懷孕期間、分娩過程中,及餵哺母乳時將病毒傳給嬰兒。
  • 輸入受愛滋病病毒污染的血液或血製品。

愛滋病病毒不會經由日常生活接觸傳播。日常生活接觸包括:握手、擁抱、吻面頰、一起用膳及共用洗手間。此外,沒有證據顯示蚊叮蟲咬可以傳播愛滋病病毒。

如何診斷愛滋病病毒感染?

我們不能從外表辨別誰人已受愛滋病病毒感染,但受感染者卻會將病毒傳染他人,進行愛滋病病毒抗體測試可以確定一個人有否受感染。

一般而言,當人體受到外來感染入侵,免疫系統會產生抗體來抵禦入侵者;但愛滋病病毒抗體對身體是沒有保護作用的。愛滋病病毒抗體測試就是要檢查血液內有沒有這種抗體,以確定一個人是否受感染。

如果愛滋病病毒抗體測試呈陽性反應即表示已受感染;反之,若在「空窗期」後測試結果呈陰性反應,即表示沒有受感染。

「空窗期」是什麼?

「空窗期」是由身體受愛滋病病毒感染,直至愛滋病病毒抗體測試檢驗出抗體的一段時間,一般而言「空窗期」都以三個月為準。

受愛滋病病毒感染的人若在「空窗期」內接受愛滋病病毒抗體測試,測試結果有可能會呈陰性反應,但體內卻帶有愛滋病病毒,並能傳染他人。

治理方法

雖然現時仍未有根治愛滋病的方法,但已有藥物可有效地應付愛滋病病毒感染及其引發的併發症。多種藥物能預防及治療機會性感染,及其他在愛滋病病情嚴重的患者身上會出現的併發症。抗愛滋病病毒藥物能抑制病人體內的愛滋病病毒至檢測不到的水平,減低免疫系統受破壞的程度。

各種治療愛滋病病毒感染的方法能幫助患者維持健康的生活。與其他很多疾病一樣,及早診斷才可以讓患者儘早接受適當的治療,並預防病情惡化。

預防方法

  1. 為保護你自己及你的性伴侶,每次進行性行為時都應該使用安全套。無論進行陰道性交、口交或肛交,正確及持續使用安全套可減低受愛滋病病毒感染的機會。與性伴侶彼此維持單一親密關係可減低但不能完全消除感染的機會,因為我們不能憑外表知道誰人已受愛滋病病毒感染。如果你的性伴侶拒絕使用安全套,你可以考慮拒絕與他/她進行性行為。
  2. 切勿在飲酒或服食毒品後進行性行為;因為酒及毒品會影響你的判斷能力,減低你使用安全套的警覺性。
  3. 切勿與他人共用針筒、針咀及其他相關的注射器具。
  4. 如果你已懷孕或正計劃懷孕,應儘快接受愛滋病病毒抗體測試。及早發現愛滋病病毒感染,除了可採取合適的藥物治療幫助受感染的產婦,更可以有效地把胎兒經由母體感染的機會減低。
友善列印 友善列印
網上資源 網上資源
相關連結
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明