Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
19 October 2017
Plague  

What is plague?

Plague is a communicable disease that affects rodents, some animals and humans. It is caused by the bacteria Yersinia pestis. There are three main forms of plague infection: bubonic, pneumonic and septicaemic. Plague in human is a serious disease with a case-fatality ratio of 30% – 60% for the bubonic type, and is always fatal for the pneumonic type when left untreated.

Mode of transmission

Plague is transmitted from an infected animal (mainly rodent) to humans through the bite of infected animal's fleas. People can also contract plague when cuts or other breaks in their skin come into contact with the body fluid or tissue of infected animals, or through inhalation of infected respiratory droplets. Bubonic plague is not usually transmitted directly from person to person unless there is contact with pus from suppurating buboes. Pneumonic plague is highly contagious. It can spread between humans by inhalation of respiratory droplets from an infected person.

Incubation period

The incubation period of bubonic plague is usually 2 – 6 days while the incubation period for primary pneumonic plague is usually 1 – 4 days.

Clinical features

Patients with bubonic plague typically experience a sudden onset of illness characterised by headache, shaking chills, fever, malaise and painful swelling of the affected regional lymph nodes. The swollen lymph node is called a ‘bubo’. This is the common form of plague and is termed bubonic plague.

The infection can progress to septicaemic plague when the bacteria invade the blood stream. The infection can be spread to other organs and cause serious complications.

Patients with pneumonic plague typically present with chills, fever, headache, body pains, weakness and chest discomfort, cough with blood-stained sputum, difficulty in breathing and may die rapidly if not treated immediately. The patient is highly infectious in this most serious form of plague.

Treatment

Plague patients should be isolated and treated with appropriate antibiotics.

Plague endemic areas

As an animal disease, plague is found in all continents, except Oceania. Plague epidemics have occurred in Africa, Asia and South America. Since the 1990s, most human cases have occurred in Africa. The three most endemic countries are the Democratic Republic of Congo, Madagascar and Peru.

Prevention

  • Eliminate sources of food and nesting places for rodents in our living environment.
    • Store food properly in covered containers and do not leave pet food unattended overnight to avoid it becoming food for rodents. Store all refuse and food remnants in dustbins with well-fitted cover. Dustbins must be emptied at least once a day.
    • Keep premises, especially refuse rooms and stairways clean. Avoid accumulation of articles.
    • Inspect all flowerbeds and pavements for rodent infestation regularly. (For further information on pest prevention and control, please contact the Pest Control Advisory Section, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department at: 3188 2064)
  • Prevent flea bites by wearing long-sleeved shirts and trousers, and applying DEET-containing insect repellent to exposed skin and surface of clothes. Pregnant women and children of 6 months or older can use DEET-containing insect repellent. For details about the use of insect repellents and the key points to be observed, please refer to 'Tips for using insect repellents'. Besides, permethrin (an insecticide) can be applied on clothes, but it should NOT be applied to skin.
  • If travelling to plague endemic areas, avoid visiting rat-infested places and never touch dead rodents. It is also important to take protective measures to prevent flea bites. For more information, please visit the website of Travel Health Service of the Department of Health (http://www.travelhealth.gov.hk).
Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
e-Resources e-Resources
Related links
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2017年10月19日
鼠疫  

什麼是鼠疫?

鼠疫是一種可感染齧齒動物、一些動物和人類的傳染病。它由鼠疫耶爾森桿菌所引致。鼠疫感染主要有三種:腺鼠疫、肺鼠疫和敗血性鼠疫。人類感染鼠疫是嚴重疾病,如沒有接受治療,腺鼠疫病死率為30% - 60%,而肺鼠疫大多是致命的。

傳播途徑

鼠疫是由受感染動物(主要是齧齒動物)身上的帶菌跳蚤經叮咬而傳播。人類的皮膚若有傷口,而與帶菌動物的體液或組織接觸,或吸入患者的飛沫,亦可感染到鼠疫。腺鼠疫通常不會在人與人之間直接傳播,除了接觸受感染者淋巴結的膿液。肺鼠疫的傳染性極高,可透過吸入患者的飛沫於人與人之間傳播。

潛伏期

腺鼠疫的潛伏期一般為 2 - 6 天;而肺鼠疫的潛伏期一般為 1 - 4 天。

病徵

腺鼠疫患者會出現突發的病徵包括頭痛、發冷顫抖、發燒、疲倦以及受影響的淋巴結腫脹和疼痛。此脹大的淋巴結稱為「淋巴結炎」。這是常見的鼠疫類型,又稱為腺鼠疫。

當鼠疫桿菌侵入血液時,病情便發展成為敗血症鼠疫。透過血液感染可蔓延到身體其他器官,引致嚴重併發症。

患上肺鼠疫的病人會發冷、發高燒、頭痛、全身疼痛、虛弱、胸口翳悶、咳出帶血的痰、呼吸困難;如不及早接受治理,病人可能很快便會死亡。患上這種最嚴重的類型的病人,具極高度的傳染性。

治理方法

患者須被隔離和服用適當的抗生素。

鼠疫的流行地區

除大洋洲外,動物鼠疫所有洲皆發現。鼠疫曾在非洲、亞洲和南美洲爆發。自上世紀九十年代開始,大部分人類個案在非洲發生。流行最廣的三個國家是剛果民主共和國、馬達加斯加和秘魯。

預防方法

  • 家居環境方面,應杜絕齧齒動物的食物來源和堵塞鼠類匿藏之處。
    • 妥善儲存食物於有蓋的容器內,和不要把寵物的糧食擱置過夜,以免成為齧齒動物的食物。把所有垃圾和食物的渣滓存放於妥善蓋好的垃圾箱內。垃圾箱必須至少每天清理一次。
    • 保持地方清潔,特別是垃圾房和樓梯清潔。避免堆積雜物。
    • 定期檢查所有花圃以防止齧齒動物繁殖。(如欲獲得更多有關鼠患的預防及控制的資訊,請致電
      3188 2064與食物環境衞生署防治蟲鼠事務諮詢組聯絡)
       
  • 穿著長袖衣物和長褲,並在外露的皮膚及衣服上塗搽含避蚊胺成分的昆蟲驅避劑,防止被跳蚤叮咬。 孕婦及6個月或以上的兒童可以使用含避蚊胺成分的昆蟲驅避劑,關於使用昆蟲驅避劑的詳情和須注意的要點,請參閱「使用昆蟲驅避劑的注意事項」。此外,亦可在衣服上使用氯菊酯(一種殺蟲劑),但切勿將氯菊酯塗在皮膚上。
  • 如要到訪鼠疫的流行地方,應遠離老鼠出沒的地方和切勿觸摸死去的齧齒動物。採取適當的保護措施防止被跳蚤叮咬亦同樣重要。如欲獲得更多資訊,請瀏覽衞生署旅遊健康服務網頁(http://www.travelhealth.gov.hk)。
友善列印 友善列印
網上資源 網上資源
相關連結
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明