Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
24 February 2017
Rabies  

Causative Agent

Rabies is an acute infection of the central nervous system caused by the rabies virus. It affects mammals like dogs, cats, foxes, bats and humans.

Mode of Transmission

When humans are bitten, scratched or licked over their broken skin by an infected animal, the virus in the saliva of the infected animal enters the human body through the wound and travels through nerves to the brain, leading to encephalitis. Rarely, rabies may also be transmitted by inhalation of virus-containing aerosol or via transplantation of an infected organ.

Incubation Period

The incubation period is usually 1 - 3 months, but may vary from less than 1 week to over 1 year.

Clinical features

The initial symptoms of rabies may be nonspecific flu-like symptoms such as malaise, fever, or headache, which may last for days. There may be numbness and tingling around the site of the wound. These are followed after a few days by anxiety, confusion, spasm of swallowing muscles, paralysis, coma and death.

Management

Once symptoms of rabies appear, the disease is nearly always fatal, and treatment is supportive.

Prevention

  1. Dog owners should make sure their dogs are licensed and vaccinated against rabies.

  2. Avoid stray animals, including dogs, cats, monkeys.

  3. Immunisation (both pre-exposure and post-exposure), combined with thorough wound cleaning, is the most reliable method of preventing rabies. After being bitten by animal, wash wound thoroughly with plain water and soap immediately. Then seek medical attention at the nearest Accident and Emergency Department. If necessary, post-exposure immunisation may be given by the attending doctor.

  4. Pre-exposure immunisation is recommended for prolonged trip to endemic areas, particularly for visits to remote rural regions without medical facilities, or people who will travel even for a short period in rabies affected areas if their activities may involve some special risks (hiking, cycling, trekking and animal handling). Please visit the website of Travel health Service of the Department of Health for more details.
Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
e-Resources e-Resources
Related links
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2017年2月24日
狂犬病  

病原體

狂犬病是一種急性由狂犬過濾性病毒引起的中樞神經系統傳染病,可影響哺乳類動物,例如狗、貓、狐類、蝙蝠和人類。

傳播途徑

當人類被帶病毒動物咬傷或抓傷,或傷口被舐後,動物唾液內的病毒經傷口侵入人體,沿神經直到腦部,造成腦炎。狂犬病也可以通過吸入含病毒的水點或通過移植受感染的器官傳播,但相當罕見。

潛伏期

潛伏期通常是 1 至 3 個月,但亦有可能是 1 星期以內至超過 1 年。

病徵

狂犬病初期的病徵並不特別,與流感病徵相似,包括疲倦、發燒或頭痛,可能持續數天,受傷部位附近可能麻痺或刺痛。數天後患者會出現焦慮、神志不清、咽喉肌肉痙攣、癱瘓、昏迷和死亡。

治理方法

當病徵出現後,狂犬病一般會致命,醫生會對患者施以支援性治療。

預防方法

  1. 狗主必須替其狗隻領取牌照及替家畜作預防狂犬病注射。

  2. 避免與不明來歷的動物接觸,包括狗、貓、猴子等。

  3. 傷前或傷後接種預防疫苗和徹底清洗傷口是最有效的預防方法。被動物咬傷後,盡速用清水及肥皂清洗傷口,然後前往附近的急症室接受治療。如有需要,醫生會為傷者提供傷後疫苗注射。

  4. 傷前接種預防疫苗宜用於要長期逗留疫區的旅客,特別是要去偏遠和缺乏醫療設施的鄉村地方,或者在疫區逗留雖然很短時間,但要進行高危活動 (長途步行、踩單車、遠行、處理動物)的旅客。如要獲得更多資訊,請瀏覽衞生署旅遊健康服務網頁。

 

友善列印 友善列印
網上資源 網上資源
相關連結
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明