Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
16 June 2016
Mobile Phone (Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Fields) and Health  

Introduction
Mobile phones are now an integral part of modern telecommunications in many places including Hong Kong. The mobile phone technology relies on the transmission of radiofrequency (RF) signal which generates electromagnetic fields (EMF).

Are there any health effects?
Unlike ionizing radiation such as X-rays and nuclear radiation, radiofrequency electromagnetic fields generated by mobile phone technology are a type of non-ionizing radiation. Simply put, non-ionizing radiation has lower energy and is insufficient to change the chemical properties of substances. It cannot cause harm by breaking chemical bonds in the human body.

At present, the well-established health effect of RF EMF exposure is mainly related to heating. RF EMF from mobile phone may be absorbed into the body and generates small amount of heat. As the body's normal thermoregulatory processes can carry this heat away, there is no substantiated evidence to show adverse health effects from normal use of mobile phone.

The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) under the World Health Organization launched an international study (INTERPHONE Study) in Year 2000 to determine whether mobile phone use increases the risk of brain cancer. In 2010, the Study Report concluded that "Overall, no increased risk of brain cancer was observed with the use of mobile phone. There were suggestions of an increased risk at the long-term heavy use of mobile phone, but biases and errors prevent a causal interpretation. The possible effects of long-term heavy use of mobile phone require further investigation". After reviewing the evidence critically in 2011, the IARC has classified RF EMF as "possibly carcinogenic to humans" (Group 2B). Generally speaking, there is less than sufficient evidence in experimental animals and only limited evidence in humans showing that agents classified under Group 2B are carcinogenic. As a matter of fact, the proven health risk is far lower than that of asbestos, smoking, second-hand smoking, nicotine and ionizing radiation, etc. Further investigation of long-term, heavy use of mobile phone and brain cancer risk is merited.

Minimizing the risk
While conclusive evidence of adverse health effects from use of mobile phone awaits the results of further investigation, some precautionary measures could be adopted to reduce exposure to RF EMF, such as limiting the length of mobile phone calls and using "hands-free" devices that keep the mobile phone further away. Some members of the public may be particularly concerned that children and adolescents may be more vulnerable to the effects of radiofrequency electromagnetic fields, because this technology has been available to them from their early years. As a precautionary measure, the use of mobile phone by children for non-essential calls should be minimized.

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
Related links
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2016年6月16日
流動電話﹝無線射頻電磁場﹞與健康  

引言
在許多地方包括香港,流動電話是現代通訊不可分割的一部分。這種技術依靠無線射頻信號的傳遞,無線射頻電磁場﹝以下簡稱“射頻電磁場”﹞會在信號傳遞中產生。

是否有健康影響?
流動電話技術所產生的"射頻電磁場",屬於非電離輻射的一種,與X光、核輻射等電離輻射並不相同。簡單而言,非電離輻射的能量較低,不足以改變物質的化學性質,不能打破人體內的化學鍵造成傷害。

現時已確立和接觸"射頻電磁場"的主要健康影響都與熱效應有關。流動電話所產生的“射頻電磁場”可被身體吸收,而產生小量熱能。因人體正常的體溫調節功能可消除這些熱能,所以現時沒有充份證據顯示,在正常使用流動電話下,會引致不良的健康影響。

在2000年,世界衞生組織核下的國際癌症研究機構展開一項國際性研究﹝INTERPHONE研究﹞,以了解流動電話的使用情況會否與腦腫瘤有關。在2010年,該項研究報告得出的結論是:全面而言,使用流動電話和腦腫瘤兩者之間的關係並不能確立。有意見認為長期高通話量可能增加腦腫瘤風險,但研究可能存在偏差和誤差以致不能作出因果關係的闡明。流動電話的長期高用量與可能的影響須要進一步研究。在2011年,國際癌症研究機構經過嚴謹論證後,將"射頻電磁場”分類為“或可能令人類患癌"﹝即第2B組﹞。一般而言,這分類表示在動物實驗方面未有足夠證據、在人類方面只有有限證據顯示可致癌。事實上,其證實的風險遠遠低於石棉、吸煙、二手煙、尼古丁、電離輻射等。長期高用量使用流動電話會否引致腦腫瘤仍須進一步研究。

減低風險
雖然流動電話對健康的影響仍要等待未來的研究結果證實,我們可採取一些預防措施以減低接觸流動電話的“射頻電磁場”,例如避免長時間通話及使用免提裝置以增加和電話的距離。市民可能特別關心兒童及青少年較易受射頻電磁場影響,因為他們從小就有機會接觸這類科技。作為預防措施,兒童的非必要通話應盡量避免。

友善列印 友善列印
相關連結
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明