Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
6 August 2014
The Health Effects of Air Pollution  

Introduction

The impact of air pollution on human health has been widely recognized. According to the World Health Organization (WHO)'s publication on Global Health Risk (2009), urban outdoor air pollution is ranked as the 14th global risk factor for mortality in Year 2004 (Figure 1).

The effects of air pollution on health are dependent on several factors. Apart from the concentrations and chemical properties of the pollutants, the person's age and general state of health, the duration of exposure, factors such as the weather condition and the distance from the emission sources also affect the nature and extent of the health effects observed. Those who exercise outdoor also increase their exposure to air pollutants. However, under general circumstances where exposure is brief, the health risk is usually low.

Sources of Air Pollution

Urban air pollution in Hong Kong is partly caused by emissions from motor vehicles, especially diesel vehicles. Emissions from power plants are also an important local air pollution source.

Hong Kong also experiences regional air pollution which is the result of emissions from power plants, industry and motor vehicles in both Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta region.

Potential Health Effects

The potential health effects of air pollution range from subtle physiological changes inside the body to florid symptoms such as nose and throat irritation, shortness of breath, coughing and chest tightness. People suffering from asthma or chronic respiratory diseases will experience an increase in symptoms when exposed to air pollutants. Although individual's reaction to air pollutant depends on various factors, people of all age groups are affected by poor air quality. Vulnerable groups such as children and the elderly are especially susceptible to the effects of air pollution.

Studies based on local data have revealed that there was a strong association between high pollution incidents and both hospital admissions and premature deaths for respiratory and cardiovascular diseases.

Outdoor air pollutants can increase the risk of cancer. In June 2012, the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) under the WHO has reclassified diesel engine exhaust from ‘probably carcinogenic to humans (Group 2A)’ to ‘carcinogenic to humans (Group 1)’. Based on latest scientific evidence, the IARC has further classified outdoor air pollution as ‘carcinogenic to humans (Group 1)’ in October 2013.

The Common Air Pollutants

The common air pollutants include carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, ozone, particulate matter, sulphur dioxide and lead.

Air Pollutant Sources Health Effects
Carbon Monoxide
Carbon monoxide is produced primarily by incomplete combustion of fossil fuels. In Hong Kong, the majority of ambient carbon monoxide comes from vehicular emissions.
Carbon monoxide reduces the oxygen carrying capacity of red blood cells. The health effects depend on the duration of exposure and the concentration of carbon monoxide inhaled. Typical symptoms of exposure to low levels of carbon monoxide include headache, dizziness and tiredness. Higher concentration of carbon monoxide can lead to impaired vision, disturbed coordination and eventually death.

Nitrogen Dioxide

High temperature combustion process results in nitrogen oxides emissions (including nitrogen dioxide), which may come from stationary sources such as power stations, and mobile sources such as motor vehicles.

Nitrogen dioxide irritates the mucosa of the eyes, nose, throat and the lower respiratory tract. Exposure to low level of nitrogen dioxide may cause increased bronchial reactivity and in those with asthma increased response to allergens. Nitrogen dioxide also aggravates existing chronic respiratory diseases. Long-term exposure to nitrogen dioxide can lower a person's lung function and resistance to respiratory infections.

Ozone

Ozone is formed from photochemical reaction between nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds, which are predominantly pollutants from motor vehicles and industries.

In the upper atmosphere, ozone shields the earth from the harmful ultraviolet radiation. In ground level, ozone is a highly reactive gas which can irritate the eyes and bring upper and lower respiratory symptoms to healthy people. It may also provoke asthmatic attacks in people having asthma. Ozone can also increase a person's susceptibility to respiratory infection and aggravate pre-existing respiratory illnesses.

Particulate Matter (PM)

There are numerous sources of PM related to human activities as well as natural sources. Combustion of fossil fuels (such as from power plants and vehicles) and biomass burning (such as wildfires) are the key source categories. In general, PM consists of a complex mixture of solid and liquid particles of organic and inorganic substances suspended in the air.

PM is further identified according to their aerodynamic diameter, as either PM10 (particles with an aerodynamic diameter smaller than 10 µm) or PM2.5 (aerodynamic diameter smaller than 2.5 µm). The latter are more dangerous since, when inhaled, they may get deeper into the lungs. A number of research studies have shown association between increase in PM concentration and increase in daily hospital admissions and premature deaths from respiratory and cardiovascular diseases. Persons with pre-existing cardiovascular and respiratory diseases were found to be most susceptible. PM has been classified as carcinogenic to humans (Group 1) by IARC.

Sulphur Dioxide

Sulphur dioxide is formed primarily from combustion of sulphur containing fossil fuels. In Hong Kong, the main source of sulphur dioxide is the power stations. Vehicular and marine vessels as well as industrial fuel combustion also contribute to the atmospheric sulphur dioxide.

Sulphur dioxide irritates eyes and nose. Inhalation of sulphur dioxide causes narrowing of the airways (bronchoconstriction), which people suffering from asthma and chronic respiratory diseases are more sensitive to than other people.

Lead

Lead occurs naturally in the earth's crust but the natural sources contribute only a small fraction of the amount of lead found in air, food, water and dust. The majority of lead in these media arises from automobile and industrial emissions and from the use of lead-containing solder and paints. The lead content in vehicular exhaust is the result of using organolead compound as fuel additives. However, a ban on the use of leaded petrol in Hong Kong in 1999 has completely eliminated the emissions of lead from motor vehicles.

Lead is a highly toxic and is known to damage the nervous system and kidney, and interfere with the synthesis of haemoglobin. Children are more vulnerable to the effects of lead, which can result in learning disabilities and impaired neurobehavioural functioning.

 

Information related to Local Air Quality and Air Quality Health Index

In Hong Kong, the Air Pollution Control Ordinance, Cap. 311, is the main legislation on air pollution control. It is enforced by the Environmental Protection Department (EPD). EPD also monitors the local air quality and communicates the short-term health risk posed by air pollution to the general public through the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) currently.

AQHIs are reported on a scale of 1 to 10 and 10+ and are grouped into five health risk categories of “Low”, “Moderate”, “High”, “Very High” and “Serious”. The suggested precautionary actions under each AQHI category can be found in the following EPD's website for AQHI - http://www.aqhi.gov.hk/en/health-advice/sub-health-advice.html.

Consideration for the Use of Masks

In general, people should reduce outdoor physical exertion and the time of their stay outdoors on high pollution days. If outdoor physical exertion is unavoidable, some people may indicate a wish to use masks. It should be noted that common masks (such as surgical masks and N95 masks) are not useful in preventing the inhalation of gaseous air pollutants such as carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, ozone and sulphur dioxide.

Although surgical masks may filter larger particles in the air, studies have shown that they are not effective in the filtration of PM of less than 10 microns, let alone PM of less than 2.5 microns.

The efficiency of N95 masks to filter PM depends on whether they are fitted properly. Moreover, they are uncomfortable to use and increase the effort of breathing especially if worn over an extended period of time.

For information on assessment of medical fitness to use respirators in conditions of high AQHI, medical practitioners may refer to the relevant “Guidance for Physicians”. Medical practitioners can also refer to the Letter to Doctors (3 Jan 2014) for more health advice to be provided to their patients and the public when AQHI reached 10+.

 

Figure 1: Deaths attributed to 19 leading risk factors, by country income level (2004)

Source: Global Health Risk - Mortality and burden of disease attributable to selected major risks, the World Health Organization (2009)

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2016年6月23日
空氣污染對健康的影響  

簡介 

空氣污染對健康造成的威脅已經得到廣泛的認同。根據世界衞生組織(世衞)在2009年發表的《全球健康風險》報告,市區室外空氣污染被列為2004年全球死亡人口的第十四大風險因素(圖一)。

空氣污染對健康所造成的影響視乎多個因素而定。除了空氣中污染物的濃度與化學特性之外,有關人士的年齡與一般健康狀況、接觸污染物的時間長短、氣候情況以及排放源頭與接觸者之間的距離等,都會對健康構成不同的影響。需要經常在戶外工作或活動的人,接觸空氣污染物的機會增加。在一般情況下,短時間接觸污染物所帶來的健康風險通常會較低。

空氣污染的來源

香港市區的空氣污染部份由車輛(尤其是柴油車輛)所排出的廢氣而引起。發電廠的排放也是本地其中一個重要空氣污染來源。

此外,本港亦受到區域性空氣污染的影響,污染的來源主要是本港及珠江三角洲一帶的發電廠、工業及車輛所排放的廢氣。

空氣污染對健康的潛在影響

空氣污染對健康的潛在影響有很多,從身體裡細微的生理變化,以至明顯的病徵如鼻子及喉嚨痕癢、氣喘、咳嗽、胸痛或胸悶等。哮喘或慢性呼吸系統疾病患者如接觸到空氣污染物,病情便會加劇。雖然不同的人受空氣污染影響的程度是取決於不同的因素,但是不同年齡的人都會受到惡劣的空氣質素的影響,而空氣污染對兒童及長者的影響則更大。

多項本地研究都顯示,因呼吸系統及心血管疾病入院及過早死亡的人數與嚴重空氣污染之間有著重要的關連。

戶外空氣污染物會增加患癌的風險。在2012年6月,世衞轄下的國際癌症研究機構把柴油引擎產生的廢氣從「可能致癌」(第2A類)重新列為「人類致癌物」(第1類)。基於最新科學證據,國際癌症研究機構在2013年10月進一步把戶外空氣污染列為人類致癌物(第1類)。

常見的空氣污染物

最常見的空氣污染物包括一氧化碳、二氧化氮、臭氧、懸浮粒子、二氧化硫和鉛。

空氣污染物 來源 對健康的影響
一氧化碳
一氧化碳主要是來自未能完全燃燒的化石燃料。而本港大部分空氣中的一氧化碳是來自車輛排出的廢氣。
一氧化碳會降低紅血球的帶氧能力,它對健康所造成的影響則視乎身體接觸一氧化碳的時間長短,以及吸入一氧化碳的濃度。一般人吸入低濃度的一氧化碳時會感到頭痛、暈眩及疲倦。當吸入高濃度的一氧化碳時更會造成視力糢糊、失去協調能力,甚至死亡。

二氧化氮

當燃燒工序以高溫進行時會排放氮氧化合物(包括二氧化氮)。發電廠及車輛排出的廢氣是二氧化氮的主要來源。

二氧化氮會刺激眼睛、鼻、咽喉及呼吸道的黏膜,接觸低濃度的二氧化氮會令支氣管過敏及加劇哮喘病人對致敏原的反應。此外,二氧化氮亦會令慢性呼吸系統疾病患者的病情惡化。長時間接觸二氧化氮可能會減弱肺部功能以及降低呼吸系統抵抗疾病的能力。

臭氧

臭氧是由主要是排放自車輛及工廠的氮氧化合物及揮發性有機化合物在光化學反應下形成的。

臭氧在大氣層的作用是阻擋太陽釋放出來的有害紫外線。但是在地面的臭氧是一種極易引起化學反應的氣體,它會刺激眼睛及引致呼吸系統的毛病。除可引發哮喘外,臭氧亦會增加呼吸系統受到感染的風險,以及令原有的呼吸系統疾病惡化。

懸浮粒子

懸浮粒子來自多種源頭,可以由人類活動及天然產生的。燃燒化石燃料(例如:車輛及發電廠排出的廢氣)及燃燒生物體(例如:野外火災)是主要的來源種類。一般來說,懸浮粒子是空氣中有機和無機物的固體和液體複雜混合物。

懸浮粒子可根據它們的氣動直徑加以界定,例如PM10(氣動直徑小於10 µm的粒子)或PM2.5(氣動直徑小於2.5 µm)。後者更具危險性,因為當吸入後,它們可以更加深入肺部。根據多項研究顯示,因呼吸系統及心血管疾病入院及過早死亡的人數與懸浮粒子的濃度之間有著重要的關連。心血管疾病和慢性呼吸疾病患者更容易受到影響。懸浮粒子已被國際癌症研究機構介定為人類致癌物(第1類)。

二氧化硫 

二氧化硫主要是由燃燒含硫的化石燃料產生。在香港,發電廠是二氧化硫的主要來源,其次是車輛、船隻以及工業的燃料燃燒裝置。

二氧化硫會刺激眼和鼻,而吸入二氧化硫會引致氣管收縮。二氧化硫對哮喘病患者及慢性呼吸系統病患者的影響更為明顯。

鉛是地殼內的天然礦物,但這些天然的鉛只佔污染來源的一小部分。大部分在空氣、食物、水源及塵埃中找到的鉛粒子都是來自車輛廢氣、工廠排放的氣體和含鉛的焊劑及油漆。車輛廢氣含有鉛粒子是因為含鉛汽油加入了鉛作為汽油的添加劑,但自一九九九年香港政府禁止車輛使用含鉛汽油起,本港的車輛都不會排放鉛。

鉛的毒性很高,它進入人體後會損害神經系統及腎臟,妨礙身體製造血紅素。鉛對兒童的威脅尤其大,因為過量的鉛會引致兒童學習障礙以及認知功能受損等。

有關空氣質素及空氣質素健康指數的資料

在香港,《空氣污染管制條例》(第311章)是管制空氣污染的主要法例,而環境保護署則負責執行該法例的各項規定。環境保護署同時監測本港的空氣質素,並透過現時採用的空氣質素健康指數向公眾提供空氣污染的短期健康風險信息。

空氣質素健康指數以1至10級及10+級通報,並分為五個健康風險級別,即“低”、“中”、“高”、“甚高”和“嚴重”。在不同健康風險級別時,建議採取的預防措施可瀏覽以下環境保護署網頁 -  http://www.aqhi.gov.hk/tc/health-advice/sub-health-advice.html

為讓公眾了解空氣質素對健康的影響及如何協助改善空氣質素,環境保護署製作了「清新空氣知多D」系列短片。市民可於以下環境保護署網頁瀏覽該系列短片 -  http://www.epd.gov.hk/epd/tc_chi/environmentinhk/air/prob_solutions/clean_air_you.html

口罩使用考慮

一般而言,市民應在空氣汚染高的日子減少戶外體力消耗及減少在戶外逗留的時間。如無法避免戶外體力消耗,有些人可能希望使用口罩。市民應注意外科口罩及N95防護口罩對預防吸入一氧化碳、二氧化氮、臭氧和二氧化硫等氣體污染物作用不大。

雖然外科口罩可以過濾較大的懸浮粒子,但研究顯示此類口罩並不能有效過濾10微米以下的懸浮粒子,更不能過濾2.5微米以下的微細懸浮粒子。

在使用防護口罩(如N95防護口罩)時,其過濾功能將視乎口罩能否緊貼面部。此外,長時間佩戴防護口罩會令人感到不舒適,使用時亦須加倍用力呼吸。

有關在空氣質素健康指數高的情況下評估健康狀況是否適宜使用防護口罩的資料,醫生可參考相關的「給醫生的指引」。醫生亦可參考本署於2014年1月3日發出的「給醫生的信」,以便在空氣質素健康指數達到10+時為病人和公眾提供更多的健康建議。

 

圖一:2004年全球死亡人口的主要風險因素

資料來源:Global Health Risk - Mortality and burden of disease attributable to selected major risks, the World Health Organization (2009)

友善列印 友善列印
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明