Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
24 June 2016
Advice to Reduce Health Effects of Firesmoke  

Various gases and smoke can be generated from fire and burning.  They include particulate matter (PM), carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide and other organic compounds.  The health effects caused by these pollutants depend on multiple factors, such as the concentration of pollutants and their chemical properties, age and health status of the individuals, duration of exposure, the distance from the fire scene, weather conditions and so on.  

Vulnerable Groups

In general, young children, elderly and people with cardiovascular or respiratory conditions are more vulnerable to the health effects of smoke exposure.

Reducing health risks

The general public should stay away from the fire scene. Nearby residents should remain indoors, reduce physical exertion, and keep windows and doors closed to prevent outdoor smoke from getting inside. If smoke has entered the indoor, people should find a safe place for shelter.

Since the weather could be very hot at the same time, nearby residents should run air conditioner or fan to keep indoor cool while windows and doors are kept closed. Also, the air conditioner should set to “recirculate” mode to prevent outdoor smoke getting inside. Residents should also drink plenty of water to prevent heat stroke.

If it is necessary to reach the vicinity of fire scene, people should reduce physical exertion. Some people may indicate a wish to use masks. It should be noted that common masks (such as surgical masks and N95 masks) are not useful in preventing the inhalation of gaseous air pollutants such as carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, ozone and sulphur dioxide.

Although surgical masks may filter larger particles in the air, studies have shown that they are not effective in the filtration of PM of less than 10 microns, let alone PM of less than 2.5 microns.

The efficiency of N95 masks to filter PM depends on whether they are fitted properly. Moreover, they are uncomfortable to use and increase the effort of breathing especially if worn over an extended period of time.

Further Relevant Information

If you wish to know more about air pollution and heat stroke, please visit our following webpage for further information.

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2016年6月24日
減少火警煙霧對健康影響的建議  

火警及燃燒時可產生多種氣體及濃煙,例如懸浮粒子、一氧化碳、氮氧化物、二氧化硫和有機化合物等。這些污染物對健康所造成的影響會視乎多個因素,例如,污染物的濃度與其化學特性,接觸者的年齡及健康狀況、接觸污染物的時間長短、與火警的距離,和氣候情況等。

較易受影響的人士

一般而言,兒童、長者及患有心臟病或呼吸系統疾病人士會較容易受這些污染物影響。

減少有關健康風險

巿民應盡可能遠離火警現場。在火警附近的居民,應盡量減少體力消耗和在戶外逗留的時間,並把門窗關上避免濃煙進入室內。如濃煙已進入室內,應找其他安全地方暫避。

由於天氣酷熱可能同時發生,當關上門窗時,應利用風扇或冷氣保持室內通爽涼快,並把冷氣調較至循環模式,以減少把室外空氣中的污染物抽入屋內。市民亦應多飲水預防中暑。

如必須到達火警現場附近,巿民應減少體力消耗。有些人可能希望使用口罩,市民應注意外科口罩及N95防護口罩對預防吸入一氧化碳、二氧化氮、臭氧和二氧化硫等氣體污染物作用不大。

雖然外科口罩可以過濾空氣中較大的粒子,但研究顯示此類口罩並不能有效過濾10微米以下的懸浮粒子,更不能過濾2.5微米以下的微細懸浮粒子。

在使用防護口罩(如N95防護口罩)時,其過濾功能將視乎口罩能否緊貼面部。此外,長時間佩戴防護口罩會令人感到不舒適,使用時亦須加倍用力呼吸。

柤關進一步資料

如想知道有關空氣污染對健康的影響及慎防中暑的資料,市民可瀏覽以下網頁:

友善列印 友善列印
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明