Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
14 October 2016
Health Information about Asbestos  

Introduction

Asbestos is a group of naturally occurring fibrous minerals with extraordinary tensile strength, poor heat conduction, and relative resistance to chemical. For these reasons, asbestos was widely used in construction of buildings and as an ingredient in a number of products, such as roofing shingles, water supply lines, and fire blankets, as well as clutches and brake linings for automobiles.

In Hong Kong, the Air Pollution Control Ordinance, Cap. 311, banned the import and sale of the more hazardous types of asbestos, amosite and crocidolite, since 1996.  A total ban on the import, transhipment, supply and use of all forms of asbestos was introduced in 2014.  However, buildings built before the mid 1980s may have asbestos containing materials (ACM).  Some examples of ACM are corrugated asbestos cement sheet, lagging materials for hot water pipes, electrical insulation cable tray.  For more information about asbestos control and common ACM in Hong Kong, please refer to the webpage of the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) (http://www.epd.gov.hk/epd/english/environmentinhk/air/asbestos/asbestos.html).

Sources of Exposure to Asbestos

The asbestos fibres go into our body mainly through inhalation and the source of exposure can be broadly categorized into occupational and environmental exposure.

Occupational Exposure

In Hong Kong, to protect worker's health in relation to asbestos work, the Factories and Industrial Undertakings (Asbestos) Regulation (Cap. 59AD) has banned work with any type of asbestos in industrial undertakings, except the removal and disposal of asbestos.  Hence, occupational exposure may arise during the removal and disposal of asbestos, particularly if adequate preventive and control measures are not taken. The Labour Department has issued a Code of Practice (http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/public/os/B/asbestos.pdf) to provide guidance on the necessary measures, such as adopting dust suppression work methods and using protective clothing and approved respirators, for protecting workers from exposure to asbestos dust at work.

Environmental Exposure

Because of its natural occurrence and widespread use in the built environment and certain industries in the past, asbestos fibres are present in minute quantities in air which urban and rural dwellers are breathing in.

Some people may have concern about ACM, namely corrugated asbestos cement sheet and grilles, present in their home environment. Asbestos fibres in these ACM are generally bound into the base material matrix and can only release extremely small quantity of asbestos fibres, if any, under normal circumstances.

Potential Health Effects

According to the World Health Organization, exposure to asbestos can cause lung cancer and mesothelioma (a rare cancer of the pleural and peritoneal linings). Asbestos exposure is also responsible for other diseases such as asbestosis (fibrosis of the lungs), and plaques, thickening and effusion in the pleura.

Workers engaging in asbestos removal and disposal work have a higher risk of exposure to asbestos dust at work and this is particularly true if they do not take proper protection. Through inhalation, asbestos fibres may get trapped and remain in the lungs and affect health.  The type and severity of health effects depends on a number of factors such as the level and duration of asbestos exposure and smoking habit.

Some diseases related to the exposure of asbestos are briefly described below.

a. Asbestosis

Asbestosis is a chronic lung disease which is due to high level and prolonged period of asbestos exposure. Generally speaking, a brief exposure to asbestos would not lead to asbestosis. In asbestosis, inhaled asbestos fibres cause the lung tissues to scar, leading to fibrosis or asbestosis. The scarring makes it more difficult to breathe. The latency period for the onset of asbestosis is typically 10-20 years after the initial exposure of asbestos. Asbestosis generally progresses slowly, and its presentation can vary from asymptomatic (no symptoms) to disabling.

b. Pleural Abnormalities

Persons with significant exposure to asbestos are at higher risk for developing various types of pleural (membranes lining the lung and the inside of the chest cavity) abnormalities, such as pleural effusion and thickening. Nevertheless, there are many causes of pleural abnormalities. Most people will not have symptoms, but some may have decreased lung function and shortness of breath.

c. Mesothelioma

Mesothelioma is a rare cancer, which affects the membranes lining the lungs and the inside of the chest cavity (pleura) or the abdominal cavity (peritoneum). Although most mesotheliomas are caused by exposure to asbestos, brief exposure to asbestos carries a very low risk of developing mesothelioma. The latency period between the time of initial exposure to asbestos and development of mesothelioma is commonly more than 30 years.

d. Lung Cancer

Lung cancer is a malignant tumor of the lung and is more common in men, particularly over the age of 40. There are many risk factors for lung cancer, including cigarette smoking or exposure to secondhand smoke (also known as passive smoking), exposure to radon gas, air pollution, radiation exposure and occupational exposure to certain chemicals or substances, such as asbestos, arsenic and chromium. Generally speaking, a brief exposure to asbestos carries a very low risk of lung cancer.

Health Advice

Ambient air usually has a very low level of asbestos fibres, which poses a very low health risk. Unlike occupational exposure to asbestos, the chance of adverse heath effect for inadvertent environmental exposure to asbestos fibres in daily life is very low. Nevertheless, one may consult a family doctor if one wishes to learn more about possible health effects of asbestos exposure or if specific symptoms (such as shortness of breath and chest pain) develop.

Everyone is encouraged to adopt healthy lifestyles including no smoking and drinking, healthy diet as well as regular exercise.

Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2016年10月14日
有關石棉的健康資訊  

簡介

石棉是多種天然纖維礦物之總稱,其特質包括特強的抗拉強度、耐熱性和對化學品抗腐蝕性。基於這些特質,石棉曾被廣泛使用於樓宇建築和作為許多產品的原材料,如屋面瓦片、供水管道和防火毯,以及汽車離合器面層和製動器襯片等。

在香港,《空氣污染管制條例》(第311章)於1996年起已禁止進口及岀售較高風險的鐵石棉及青石棉,並於2014年全面禁止所有種類石棉的進口、轉運、供應和使用。不過,在80年代中期之前興建的樓宇或可找到含石棉物料。一些例子包括石棉波紋水泥瓦片、熱水管的隔熱材料和隔電的電線槽。有關香港的石棉管制和常見含石棉物料的詳情,可瀏覽環境保護署的網頁(http://www.epd.gov.hk/epd/tc_chi/environmentinhk/air/asbestos/asbestos.html)。

石棉的接觸來源

石棉纖維主要透過呼吸進入我們的身體,接觸來源大致可分類為職業性接觸和環境接觸。

職業性接觸

在香港,《工廠及工業經營(石棉)規例》(第59AD章)已禁止在工業經營內進行任何種類的石棉工作,拆除及棄置石棉工作除外,以保障從事石棉相關工作的工人的健康。故此,職業性接觸可發生於拆除及棄置石棉時,特別是當工人沒有採取足夠的預防及控制措施。勞工處已發出了相關的工作守則(http://www.labour.gov.hk/tc/public/pdf/os/B/asbestos.pdf),就保障工人免使其工作時暴露於石棉塵埃中所必須採取的措施提供指引,例如採取抑制塵埃的工作方法和使用防護衣物和認可呼吸防護設備。

環境接觸

由於石棉是天然存在,並曾被廣泛使用於建築和某些工業上,在城市和郊區的空氣中都會含有微量的石棉。

部份人士或因家居環境存在含石棉物料(如波紋水泥瓦片和通花磚)而感憂慮。這些物料中的石棉纖維一般與物料的基層構造物黏合在一起,因此,在正常情況下,是不會釋出或只會釋出極微量的石棉纖維。   

潛在的健康影響

世界衞生組織指出,接觸石棉可導致癌症,如肺癌和間皮瘤(一種胸腔和腹腔内壁上的罕見癌症)。接觸石棉也可引起其它疾病,如石棉沉着病(肺纖維化)、胸膜斑、胸膜增厚和胸腔積水。

從事石棉拆除及棄置工作的人士在工作時接觸到石棉塵的風險較高,尤其是在沒有做好防護措施的情況下。當石棉纖維被吸入,纖維可被困及停留在肺部以致影響健康。對健康影響的類型和嚴重程度取決於多項因素,如接觸石棉的水平和時間,以及個人吸煙習慣等。

以下簡述與石棉接觸相關的一些疾病:

一) 石棉沉着病

石棉沉着病是由於長期吸入高水平的石棉而患上的一種慢性肺部疾病。一般而言,短暫的石棉接觸不會導致石棉沉着病。患者吸入的石棉纖維會引致肺組織結疤,從而導致纖維化(或石棉沉着病)。肺組織結疤可使患者呼吸困難。石棉沉著病的潛伏期很長,患者通常是在初次接觸石棉後的10至20年發病。石棉沉着病一般病程進展緩慢,臨床表現可從沒有症狀到嚴重影響健康。

二) 胸膜異常

長時間接觸高濃度石棉的人士患上各種類型的胸膜(肺和胸腔內的黏膜)異常的風險較高,例如胸腔積水和胸膜增厚。儘管如此,導致胸膜異常的原因有很多。大部份患者沒有症狀,但有些患者會出現肺功能減弱及呼吸困難。

三) 間皮瘤

間皮瘤是一種罕見的癌症,會影響肺和胸腔內的黏膜(胸膜)或腹腔內的黏膜(腹膜)。雖然大多數間皮瘤是由接觸石棉引起的,但短暫接觸石棉導致間皮瘤的風險非常低。初次接觸石棉以致形成間皮瘤的潛伏期一般為30年以上。

四) 肺癌

肺癌是一種肺部的惡性腫瘤,較常見於男性,尤其是40歲以上男士。主要的風險因素包括吸煙或吸入二手煙(亦稱被動吸煙),吸入氡氣,空氣污染,接觸輻射,因工作關係接觸到某些化學品或物質,例如石棉、砷和鉻等。一般而言,因短暫接觸石棉而患上肺癌的風險非常低。

健康建議

一般空氣中通常含有非常低水平的石棉纖維,其對健康構成的風險亦非常低。有別於職業性接觸,在日常生活中不經意地接觸了周邊環境的石棉纖維,引起不良健康影響的機會很低。然而,個別人士如果想知道更多關於接觸石棉可能對身體的影響,或者身體出現某些特定的症狀(如呼吸困難和胸口疼痛),可諮詢家庭醫生。

我們鼓勵每個人都奉行健康的生活方式,包括不吸煙,不飲酒,健康飲食和恆常運動。

友善列印 友善列印
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明