Skip to content

Expert Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance

15 December 2021

Terms of Reference


Taking into account the Hong Kong Strategy and Action Plan on Antimicrobial Resistance (“AMR”) including the relevant sector-specific measures introduced since its promulgation, international development and local circumstances, the Expert Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance (“EC”) will advise the High Level Steering Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance (“HLSC”) on:

  1. Existing and new strategies and initiatives to combat the spread of AMR with a view to protecting public health through:
    • Minimizing the incidence of healthcare associated infections; and
    • Surveillance of the use of antimicrobials,
  2. thereby helping to ensure the optimal use of antimicrobials and their effectiveness in treating and preventing microbial infections;
  3. Existing and new standards, guidelines and good practices relating to (1), as well as their appropriate and contextualized adoption in Hong Kong; and
  4. Existing and new strategies and plans on risk communications, public education and community engagement to promote AMR awareness, and directions or areas of research relating to (1) or (2), to be considered and commissioned by HLSC and/or relevant stakeholders.




Prof. YUEN Kwok Yung G.B.S., S.B.S., JP

Chair of Infectious Diseases, Department of Microbiology, The University of Hong Kong

Vice Chairman
Controller, Centre for Health Protection
Local Members

Dr CHAN Ming Wai, Angus

Immediate Past President, Hong Kong College of Family Physicians

Dr CHAN Sinn Kay, Olivia

Member, Veterinary Surgeons Board of Hong Kong and Member, Animal Welfare Advisory Group

Dr HO Pak Leung, JP Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology, The University of Hong Kong
Prof. Margaret IP

Professor, Department of Microbiology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr LAI Wai Man, Raymond

Chief Infection Control Officer, Hospital Authority

Prof. LAU Lok Ting, Terence

Interim Associate Vice President (Innovation and Technology Development) and Adjunct Professor,

Department of Applied Biology & Chemical Technology, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr LUNG Kwok Cheung

Consultant, Department of Medicine, Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital, Hospital Authority

Prof. POON Lit Man, Leo

Professor and Division Head, Division of Public Health Laboratory Sciences, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong

Dr SETO Wing Hong

Director, WHO Collaborating Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Control

Dr TSANG Ho Fai, Thomas

President, Hong Kong College of Community Medicine

Prof. YOU Hoi Sze, Joyce

Professor, School of Pharmacy, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr YUNG Wai Hung, Raymond

Co-chairman, Working Group of Collaboration between Centre of Health Protection and Private Hospitals on Safe Use of Antibiotics and Infection Control

Mr WONG Chun Kow, Peter

President, World's Poultry Science Association (Hong Kong Branch)

Overseas / Mainland Members

Prof. Mary BARTON AO

Emeritus Professor, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, University of South Australia, Australia


Chief Executive Officer, Veterinary Medicines Directorate, United Kingdom

Prof. Otto CARS

Senior Professor (Infectious Diseases), Department of Medical Sciences, Uppsala University, Sweden

Prof. XU Shixin

Director, Department of Safety Assessment, China Institute of Veterinary Drug Control

Ex-officio Members

Assistant Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation (Inspection and Quarantine)

Assistant Director of Centre for Food Safety (Risk Management)

Head of Infection Control Branch, Centre for Health Protection, Department of Health

Consultant Med (Microbiology) 3, Public Health Laboratory Services Branch, Centre for Health Protection, Department of Health

Principal Assistant Secretary for Food and Health (Food)3
Chief Manager (Infection, Emergency & Contingency) of Hospital Authority