Skip to content

Frequently asked questions on Measles

Frequently asked questions on Measles

2019-07-09
  1. What is measles?
  2. What are the symptoms if I got measles?
  3. How is measles transmitted?
  4. How can I prevent getting measles?
  5. What should I do if I intend to travel to areas with recent measles outbreak?
  6. Can children who have only received one dose of measles vaccination go to areas with recent measles outbreak? 
  7. What about if I want to travel to areas with recent measles outbreak with children under 1 year?
  8. Should pregnant women refrain from going to areas with recent measles outbreak?
  9. What should I do if I develop symptoms after coming back from a measles affected area?
  10. What precaution do I need to take if I might have contact with a measles patient during his/her period of communicability?
  11. Do foreign domestic helpers need to receive MMR vaccine?
  12. When was measles-containing vaccines introduced in Hong Kong? What was the schedule back then and what is the current schedule of measles vaccination?
  13. Which groups of people are contraindicated to receive MMR vaccine?
  14. Why should pregnant women and women preparing for pregnancy pay particular attention to measles?

1.  What is measles?

Measles is a highly infectious disease caused by a virus.

2.  What are the symptoms if I got measles?

Affected persons present initially with fever, cough, runny nose, red eyes and white spots inside the mouth. This is followed 3 to 7 days later by a red blotchy skin rash, which usually spreads from face to the rest of the body. The rash usually lasts 4 - 7 days, but can persist for up to 3 weeks leaving with brownish staining and sometimes fine skin peeling.

In severe cases, lung, gut and brain can get involved and lead to serious consequences or even death.

3.  How is measles transmitted?

Measles can be transmitted airborne by droplet spread or by direct contact with nasal or throat secretions of infected persons, and less commonly, by articles soiled with nasal or throat secretions. The patient can pass the disease to other persons from 4 days before to 4 days after the appearance of the rash.

4.  How can I prevent getting measles?

To prevent getting measles, members of the public are advised to observe the following:

  • Vaccination against measles is the most effective preventive measure. Under the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme, children receive a two-dose course of measles vaccination;
  • Maintain good personal and environmental hygiene;
  • Maintain good indoor ventilation;
  • Keep hands clean and wash hands properly;
  • Cover nose and mouth with tissue paper when sneezing or coughing. Dispose of soiled tissues into a lidded rubbish bin, then wash hands thoroughly;
  • Clean used toys and furniture properly;
  • Consult doctors promptly if develop symptoms of measles; and
  • Refrain from work or school till 4 days from the appearance of rash to prevent spread of the infection.

5.  What should I do if I intend to travel to areas with recent measles outbreak?

Measles remain as an endemic infection in many places around the world. Many countries in the world are experiencing resurgence of measles with outbreaks reported recently, including countries in Europe and in South East Asia. Travellers should pay attention to the risk of measles. For outbreak news of the affected areas, please refer to the website of Department of Health's Travel Health Service.

Vaccination against measles is the most effective way to prevent the disease. For those who had received two doses of measles-containing vaccine or confirmed to have measles infection in the past are considered to be immune to measles. People who intend to travel to areas with recent measles outbreak are advised to review their vaccination history and past medical history. Non-immune individuals are advised to consult their doctors about measles vaccination, which is usually given together with mumps and rubella vaccines as MMR vaccine.

For those with incomplete vaccination, unknown vaccination history or unknown immunity against measles, they are advised to consult their doctor for advice on measles vaccination. As it takes about two weeks after vaccination for antibodies to develop and provide protection against measles, travellers are advised to plan and get vaccinated ahead.

6.  Can children who have only received one dose of measles vaccination go to areas with recent measles outbreak? 

According to the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, when given as scheduled, two doses of MMR vaccine are 97% effective while one dose is 93% effective against measles. In Hong Kong, children receive a two-dose course of measles vaccination under the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme.

7.  What about if I want to travel to areas with recent measles outbreak with children under 1 year?

Local children aged under one year are not due for MMR vaccination under the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme. As they are susceptible to measles, they are advised not to travel to areas with recent measles outbreak. If people must travel to areas with measles outbreak with children under one year, they have to consult their doctor for advice.

8.  Should pregnant women refrain from going to areas with recent measles outbreak?

Pregnant women and women preparing for pregnancy should consult their doctor for advice if they are not sure whether they are immune to measles. Since measles-containing vaccines cannot be given during pregnancy, they are advised not to travel to areas with outbreaks or high incidence of measles if they are not immune to measles.

9.  What should I do if I develop symptoms after coming back from a measles affected area?

If travellers returning from affected areas develop symptoms of measles (e.g. fever and rash), they should seek medical advice immediately and avoid contact with non-immune persons, especially pregnant women and infants. They should also report their symptoms and travel history in advance to the healthcare workers so that appropriate infection control measures can be implemented at the healthcare facilities to prevent any potential spread.

10. What precaution do I need to take if I might have contact with a measles patient during his/her period of communicability?

Those who might have had contact with the patients during the period of communicability are urged to observe if they have developed measles-related symptoms, and to seek medical treatment immediately if such symptoms appear. If they need to visit any health care facilities during the period of medical surveillance, they should also report whether they have symptoms and prior measles exposure history to the healthcare workers so that appropriate infection control measures can be implemented at the concerned healthcare facilities to prevent any potential spread.

11. Do foreign domestic helpers need to receive MMR vaccine?

All foreign domestic helpers who are non-immune* to measles should receive MMR vaccine, preferably before they arrive in Hong Kong. If this is not possible, they can consult a doctor after they have arrived in Hong Kong. Employment agencies can consider adding assessment of immune status against measles or MMR vaccination of foreign domestic helpers as additional items in the pre-employment medical check-up package.

*In general, people can be considered as non-immune to measles if (i) they did not have measles infection confirmed by laboratory test before, and (ii) they had not been fully vaccinated against measles or have unknown vaccination status.

12. When was measles-containing vaccines introduced in Hong Kong? What was the schedule back then and what is the current schedule of measles vaccination?

For details about measles-containing vaccines provided by the Government, please refer to infographic Learn more about measles vaccine.

13. Which groups of people are contraindicated to receive MMR vaccine?

In general, the following individuals should NOT receive MMR vaccine^*:

  1. serious allergic reaction to a previous dose of MMR vaccine or any component of the vaccine (e.g. gelatin or neomycin)
  2. individuals with severe immunosuppression from diseases or treatment (e.g. on current cancer treatment such as chemotherapy and radiotherapy, taking immunosuppressive medicines such as high dose corticosteroid, etc.)
  3. pregnancy#

^Medical advice should always be sought.

*According to information from the World Health Organization and the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, anaphylactic reactions to MMR vaccines are not associated with hypersensitivity to egg antigens but to other components of the vaccines (such as gelatin). The risk for serious allergic reactions following receipt of these vaccines by egg-allergic persons is extremely low. Therefore, individuals with non-anaphylactic egg allergy can be safely vaccinated with MMR vaccine. Those with severe allergic reaction (e.g. anaphylaxis) to eggs should consult a healthcare professional for vaccination in an appropriate setting.

#In general, women should avoid pregnancy for three months after receipt of MMR vaccine and take appropriate contraceptive measure.

14. Why should pregnant women and women preparing for pregnancy pay particular attention to measles?

Measles infection in pregnancy can result in adverse pregnancy outcomes, including pregnancy loss, preterm birth, and low birth weight, but there is no evidence to support an increased risk of congenital defects. Moreover, neonates who get infected because the mother had measles shortly around the period of delivery are at an increased risk of subacute sclerosing panencephalitis (a very rare but fatal disease of the central nervous system) in later life.

Skip to content

麻疹常見問題

麻疹常見問題

2019-07-09
  1. 什麼是麻疹?
  2. 感染麻疹後有何病徵?
  3. 麻疹是如何傳播的?
  4. 如何預防感染麻疹?
  5. 如要前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區,應怎麼辦?
  6. 如兒童只接種了一劑含麻疹疫苗,可以前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區嗎?
  7. 未滿一歲的孩童如要同行前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區,要留意什麼?
  8. 現時孕婦可以前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區嗎?
  9. 由受麻疹影響地區回港後出現病徵怎麼辦?
  10. 假如曾有機會在麻疹病人傳染期與他/她接觸,應注意什麼?
  11. 外籍家庭傭工需否接種MMR混合疫苗?
  12. 含麻疹疫苗何時開始引入本港?以往及現時的接種時間表為何?
  13. 那些人士不宜接種MMR混合疫苗?
  14. 為什麼孕婦及計劃懷孕的女士須特別小心避免感染麻疹?

1.  什麼是麻疹?

麻疹是一種由病毒引起的高傳染性疾病。

2.  感染麻疹後有何病徵?

受感染的人初時會發燒、咳嗽、流鼻水、眼紅及口腔內出現白點。3至7天後皮膚會出現污斑紅疹,通常會由面部擴散到全身,維持4至7天,亦可能長達3星期,留下褐色斑痕或出現脫皮。

病情嚴重的患者的呼吸系統、消化道及腦部會受影響,引致嚴重後果甚至死亡。

3.  麻疹是如何傳播的?

麻疹可透過空氣中的飛沫或直接接觸患者的鼻喉分泌物而傳播,透過被鼻喉分泌物弄污的物件傳播的機會則較低。患者從出疹前4天至出疹後4天內可把病傳染給別人。

4.  如何預防感染麻疹?

要預防感染麻疹,市民應留意:

  • 防疫注射是最有效預防麻疹的方法。在「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」下,兒童接種共兩劑含麻疹的疫苗;
  • 保持良好的個人和環境衞生;
  • 保持室內空氣流通;
  • 保持雙手清潔並以正確方法潔手;
  • 打噴嚏或咳嗽時應用紙巾掩蓋口鼻,把用過的紙巾棄置於有蓋的垃圾箱內,然後徹底清潔雙手;
  • 妥善清潔使用過的玩具和傢俬;
  • 如出現麻疹病徵,應盡快求醫;及
  • 出疹後的4天內不應上班或上學,避免將疾病傳播。

5.  如要前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區,應怎麼辦?

麻疹在全球多個地方一直為風土病。近期全球多個國家,包括歐洲和東南亞一些國家,正受麻疹再度爆發的影響,旅遊人士應注意感染麻疹的風險,受影響地區的疫情消息可參閱衞生署旅遊健康服務網頁

接種麻疹疫苗為最有效預防麻疹的方法。已接種兩劑含麻疹疫苗或過往曾確診感染麻疹的人士,均為對麻疹具備免疫力。計劃前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區的市民出發前應先檢視其疫苗接種紀錄及個人病歷,未有免疫力的人士應就接種麻疹疫苗事宜諮詢醫生意見,而醫生通常會為他們一併注射流行性腮腺炎和德國麻疹疫苗,即MMR混合疫苗。

就未完成疫苗接種、疫苗接種紀錄不明或對麻疹免疫力有疑問的人士,應該就接種麻疹疫苗事宜諮詢醫生意見。由於接種疫苗後身體約需兩星期產生抗體來預防麻疹,旅客應及早計劃並接種疫苗。

6.  如兒童只接種了一劑含麻疹疫苗,可以前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區嗎?

根據美國疾病控制及預防中心的資料,按建議年滿一歲接種一劑MMR混合疫苗,預防麻疹效果可達93%,接種兩劑疫苗後預防效果更可達97%。在「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」下,本港兒童接種共兩劑含麻疹的疫苗。

7.  未滿一歲的孩童如要同行前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區,要留意什麼?

在本港,未滿一歲的兒童仍未適齡在「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」下接種MMR混合疫苗。由於他們對麻疹沒有免疫力,他們在麻疹爆發期間,不應前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區。市民如須攜同未滿一歲的兒童前往麻疹爆發的地區,應先諮詢醫生意見。

8.  現時孕婦可以前往最近有麻疹爆發的地區嗎?

如孕婦及計劃懷孕的女士就個人是否對麻疹具備免疫力存有疑問,應該諮詢醫生的意見。由於在懷孕期間不適合接種含麻疹疫苗,若她們對麻疹沒有免疫力,便不應前往出現麻疹爆發或高發病率的地方。

9.  由受麻疹影響地區回港後出現病徵怎麼辦?

由受麻疹影響地區回港的市民如出現麻疹病徵(例如發燒、紅疹等),應立即求醫,並避免接觸對麻疹未有免疫力的人士(尤其是孕婦和嬰兒)。他們亦應在求診前預先知會醫護人員有關的病徵及旅遊史,以便醫療機構安排適當的感染控制措施,防止可能出現的傳播。

10. 假如曾有機會在麻疹病人傳染期與他/她接觸,應注意什麼?

曾有機會在麻疹病人傳染期與他們接觸的人士,應留意有否出現麻疹相關病徵,如有出現相關病徵應立即求醫。如在醫學監察期間須到訪任何醫療機構,他們亦應在到訪前預先知會醫護人員有無相關的病徵及麻疹接觸史,以便相關醫療機構安排適當的感染控制措施,防止可能出現的傳播。

11. 外籍家庭傭工需否接種MMR混合疫苗?

所有對麻疹未具備免疫力*的外籍家庭傭工都應接種MMR混合疫苗,在抵港工作前接種更佳。如果未能及時接種,他們可以在抵港後諮詢醫生意見。僱傭機構可考慮將外籍家庭傭工對麻疹免疫力的評估或MMR混合疫苗接種加入職前身體檢查項目中。

*一般而言,以下人士均為對麻疹未具備免疫力:(i) 過往未曾經化驗確診感染麻疹;及 (ii) 未完成麻疹疫苗接種或接種紀錄不明。

12. 麻疹疫苗何時開始引入本港?以往及現時的接種時間表為何?

有關政府提供含麻疹疫苗的詳細資料,請瀏覽信息圖表 麻疹疫苗 - 知多一點點

13. 那些人士不宜接種MMR混合疫苗?

一般而言,以下人士不宜接種MMR混合疫苗^*:

  1. 曾對MMR混合疫苗或其任何成份(例如明膠或新霉素)有嚴重的過敏反應
  2. 因疾病或治療而導致免疫功能受嚴重抑制的人士(例如正在接受化學治療[又稱「化療」]及放射治療[又稱「電療」]等抗癌治療、服用會令免疫功能降低的藥物如高劑量類固醇等)
  3. 孕婦#

^應諮詢醫生意見。

*根據世界衞生組織及美國疾病控制及預防中心的資料,接種MMR混合疫苗後出現的過敏性休克與疫苗所含的其他成分(如明膠)相關,而並非雞蛋抗原。對雞蛋敏感人士接種MMR混合疫苗後出現嚴重過敏反應的風險極低。因此,對雞蛋曾產生過敏反應(並非過敏性休克)的人士可安全接種MMR混合疫苗。而對雞蛋曾產生嚴重過敏(如過敏性休克)的人士則應徵詢專業醫護人員及在適當的場所內接種。

#一般而言,婦女在接種MMR混合疫苗後三個月內不宜懷孕,需採取妥善的避孕措施。

14. 為什麼孕婦及計劃懷孕的女士須特別小心避免感染麻疹?

懷孕期間感染麻疹可能導致懷孕的不良影響,包括流產、早產及嬰兒出生時體重過輕等,然而並無證據顯示會增加嬰兒出現先天性缺陷的風險。此外,如孕婦於生產前後的短時間內感染麻疹,其受感染的初生嬰兒日後患「亞急性硬化性全腦炎」(一種非常罕見但可致命的神經系統疾病)的風險較高。