Skip to content

FAQs by Doctors: Seasonal Influenza Vaccination for the 2021-22 Season in Hong Kong

FAQs by Doctors: Seasonal Influenza Vaccination for the 2021-22 Season in Hong Kong
2021-09-14
  1. What is the recommended composition of the 2021-22 seasonal influenza vaccine?
  2. How many shots of seasonal influenza vaccine will subsidised persons need?
  3. If a child under the age of 9 years is getting seasonal influenza vaccination for the first time and requires 2 doses, does the same type of vaccine have to be used for both doses?
  4. How to ensure accurate administration of correct dosage for children?
  5. When is the optimal time to receive influenza vaccination?
  6. What types of seasonal influenza vaccines are recommended for use in Hong Kong by Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases (SCVPD)?
  7. What kinds of seasonal influenza vaccines are covered in VSS?
  8. Who should not receive inactivated seasonal influenza vaccination?
  9. Is inactivated influenza vaccine safe? What are the possible side effects following the inactivated seasonal influenza vaccine administration?
  10. Who should not receive live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV)?
  11. What are the possible side effects following live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV) administration?
  12. Who should not receive recombinant influenza vaccine (RIV)?
  13. What are the possible side effects following recombinant influenza vaccine (RIV) administration?
  14. Does seasonal influenza vaccine cause influenza?
  15. Why do some people who have been vaccinated with seasonal influenza vaccine (SIV) still get influenza / influenza-like illness?
  16. Can COVID-19 vaccine be given together with seasonal influenza vaccine?

1. What is the recommended composition of the 2021-22 seasonal influenza vaccine?

The egg-based quadrivalent influenza vaccines recommended by the Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases (SCVPD) for the 2021-22 season contain the following:

  • an A/Victoria/2570/2019 (H1N1)pdm09-like virus
  • an A/Cambodia/e0826360/2020 (H3N2)-like virus
  • a B/ Washington/02/2019-like virus
  • a B/Phuket/3073/2013-like virus

The recombinant-based quadrivalent influenza vaccines recommended by the SCVPD for the 2021-22 season contain the following:

  • an A/Wisconsin/588/2019 (H1N1)pdm09-like virus
  • an A/Cambodia/e0826360/2020 (H3N2)-like virus
  • a B/ Washington/02/2019-like virus
  • a B/Phuket/3073/2013-like virus

If trivalent influenza vaccine is being used, the influenza B component shall contain a B/Washington/02/2019-like virus.

2. How many shots of seasonal influenza vaccine will subsidised persons need?

Persons aged 9 years or above are recommended to receive one dose of 2021-22 influenza vaccine. To ensure adequate immunity against seasonal influenza, children under 9 years old who have never received any seasonal influenza vaccine are recommended to receive 2 doses of seasonal influenza vaccine with a minimum interval of 4 weeks in the 2021-22 season. Children below 9 years of age who have received at least one dose of seasonal influenza vaccine in the 2020-21 season or before are recommended to receive one dose in the 2021-22 season.

3. If a child under the age of 9 years is getting seasonal influenza vaccination for the first time and requires 2 doses, does the same type of vaccine have to be used for both doses?

No, the first and second doses do not have to be the same type. However, the two doses should be separated by at least 4 weeks.

4. How to ensure accurate administration of correct dosage for children?

The doctors should refer to the package inserts of individual products for the recommended age range of recipients and dosage.

5. When is the optimal time to receive influenza vaccination?

As it usually takes about two weeks after vaccination for antibodies to develop in the body and provide protection against seasonal influenza virus, eligible persons are advised to visit participating private medical doctors' clinics for vaccination as early as possible to protect from the possible winter influenza season.

6. What types of seasonal influenza vaccines are recommended for use in Hong Kong by Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases (SCVPD)?

Inactivated influenza vaccine (IIV), recombinant influenza vaccine (RIV) and live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV) are recommended for use in Hong Kong by SCVPD. For IIVs, quadrivalent IIV is preferred to trivalent IIV due to the additional protection against one more lineage of influenza B offered by quadrivalent IIV. Depending on individual brand, most IIVs are recommended for use among people six months of age or older, including those who are healthy, pregnant women and those with chronic medical problems. RIV is recommended for use in individuals of 18 years of age or above. For LAIV, which is a quadrivalent vaccine, it can be used for people 2 to 49 years of age except those who are pregnant, immunocompromised or with other contraindications. The package inserts for individual products should always be referred to when deciding which vaccine to give.

7. What kinds of seasonal influenza vaccines are covered in VSS?

The VSS will cover the types of seasonal influenza vaccines recommended by the Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases (SCVPD) that are registered and supplied for use in Hong Kong. For the 2021-22 season, all available SIV in Hong Kong are quadrivalent SIV.

8. Who should not receive inactivated seasonal influenza vaccination?

People who have a history of severe allergic reaction to any vaccine component or a previous dose of any influenza vaccine are not suitable to have inactivated seasonal influenza vaccination. Individuals with mild egg allergy who are considering an influenza vaccination can be given inactivated influenza vaccines (IIVs) in primary care setting, such as health centres or clinics. Individuals with a history of anaphylaxis to egg should have seasonal influenza vaccine administered by healthcare professionals in appropriate medical facilities with capacity to recognise and manage severe allergic reactions. Influenza vaccine contains ovalbumin (an egg protein), but the vaccine manufacturing process involves repeated purification and the ovalbumin content is very low. Even people who are allergic to eggs are generally safe to receive vaccination. Those with bleeding disorders or on anticoagulants should consult their doctors for advice. If an individual suffers from fever on the day of vaccination, the vaccination should be deferred till recovery.

(Note: All doctors are advised to read carefully the product information of the vaccine they have procured, noting especially the contraindications, route of administration, suitable age group, dosage for children and expiry date.)

9. Is inactivated influenza vaccine safe? What are the possible side effects following inactivated seasonal influenza vaccine administration??

Inactivated influenza vaccine (IIVs) is very safe and usually well tolerated apart from occasional soreness, redness or swelling at the injection site. Some recipients may experience fever, muscle pain, and tiredness beginning 6 to 12 hours after vaccination and lasting up to two days. If fever or discomforts persist, please consult a doctor. Immediate severe allergic reactions like hives, swelling of the lips or tongue, and difficulties in breathing are rare and require emergency consultation.

Influenza vaccination may be rarely followed by serious adverse events such as Guillain-Barré syndrome (about 1 to 2 case per million vaccinees) and severe allergic reaction (anaphylaxis) (9 per 10 million doses distributed). However, influenza vaccination may not necessarily have causal relations with these adverse events. Studies have shown that the risk of Guillain-Barré Syndrome after influenza infection (17.20 per million infected persons) is much higher than after influenza vaccination (1.03 per million vaccine recipients).

(The Lancet Infectious Diseases. 2013 Sep; 13(9): 769-76)

10. Who should not receive live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV)?

LAIV is a live vaccine and is generally contraindicated in the following conditions, taking reference from recommendations of the United States, United Kingdom and Canada:

  • History of severe allergic reaction to any vaccine component or after previous dose of any influenza vaccine;
  • Concomitant aspirin or salicylate-containing therapy in children and adolescents;
  • Children 2 years through 4 years who have asthma or who have had a history of wheezing in the past 12 months**;
  • Children# and adults who are immunocompromised due to any cause;
  • Close contacts and caregivers of severely immunosuppressed persons who require a protected environment;
  • Pregnancy; and
  • Receipt of influenza antiviral medication within previous 48 hours.

** The UK recommended the use of IIV instead of LAIV for children with increased wheezing and/or needed additional bronchodilator treatment in previous 72 hours. Also, specialist advice should be sought on giving LAIV for children who require regular oral steroid for maintenance of asthma control or who have previously required intensive care for asthmatic attack. Canada recommended that individuals with severe asthma (currently on oral or high-dose inhaled glucocorticosteroids or active wheezing) or those with medically attended wheezing in the 7 days prior to vaccination should not use LAIV.

# According to Canadian guidelines, intramuscular influenza vaccination is the standard for children living with HIV. LAIV may be considered as an option for children 2 to 17 years of age with stable HIV infection on highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART) and adequate immune function, and the decision should be made on a case-by-case basis.

Individuals with mild egg allergy who are considering an influenza vaccination can be given LAIV in primary care setting, such as health centres or clinics. Individuals with a history of anaphylaxis to egg should have seasonal influenza vaccine administered by healthcare professionals in appropriate medical facilities with capacity to recognise and manage severe allergic reactions. Influenza vaccine contains ovalbumin (an egg protein), but the vaccine manufacturing process involves repeated purification and the ovalbumin content is very low. Even people who are allergic to eggs are generally safe to receive vaccination.

Service providers should always refer to the package inserts of individual products for detailed information.

11. What are the possible side effects following live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV) administration?

The most common adverse reactions following LAIV administration are nasal congestion or runny nose (in all ages), fever (in children) and sore throat (in adults). The safety in pregnant women has not been established. Children aged below five years with recurrent wheezing / persons of any age with asthma may be at increased risk of wheezing following administration.

12. Who should not receive recombinant influenza vaccine (RIV)?

RIV is recommended for use in individuals of 18 years of age or above. People who have a history of hypersensitivity to any vaccine component of the RIV are not suitable to receive RIV. RIV contains no egg protein.

Those with bleeding disorders or on anticoagulants should consult their doctors for advice. If an individual suffers from fever on the day of vaccination, vaccination should be deferred till recover. Please consult your doctor for details. RIV does not require egg in the production process.

13. What are the possible side effects following recombinant influenza vaccine (RIV) administration?

The most common side effects following RIV administration include tenderness and pain over the injection site. Recipients may also experience headache, fatigue, muscle pain and joint pain.

14. Does seasonal influenza vaccine cause influenza?

The viruses in inactivated influenza vaccine are killed viruses and the haemagglutinin contained in recombinant influenza vaccine is a surface protein of the influenza virus, therefore both vaccines cannot cause influenza. The viruses in live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV) are weakened and cannot cause influenza in immunocompetent individuals. However, LAIV is not recommended for close contacts and caregivers of severely immunosuppressed persons who require a protective environment because of the theoretical risk of transmission of the live attenuated vaccine viruses to the severely immunosuppressed persons and cause disease.

15. Why do some people who have been vaccinated with seasonal influenza vaccine (SIV) still get influenza / influenza-like illness?

There are several reasons why someone may get influenza / influenza-like illness even after they have been vaccinated. Firstly, because the body takes about 2 weeks to develop antibodies after vaccination. If a person is infected with influenza virus shortly after vaccination, he or she may develop influenza before becoming immune. Secondly, infection of viruses other than influenza virus can also result in illness similar to influenza, so people may falsely think that they had influenza despite being vaccinated. Thirdly, small number of people experience side effects after receiving inactivated influenza vaccine, for example fever and myalgia, which may be confused with influenza virus infection. Lastly, SIVs is unable to provide complete protection against influenza, because vaccine effectiveness depends on factors including the similarity between the virus strains present in the vaccine and those circulating in the community, as well as the characteristics of recipients, for example, age. Even so, all members of the public except those with known contraindications should receive SIV annually because influenza vaccination is one of the effective means in reducing the risk of influenza and its complications together with reduction in influenza-associated hospitalisation and death.

16. Can COVID-19 vaccine be given together with seasonal influenza vaccine?

There are currently limited data on the simultaneous administration of COVID-19 vaccines with other vaccines. It is recommended to have a minimal interval of at least 14 days between administration of COVID-19 vaccine (Comirnaty or CoronaVac) and any other vaccine.

Skip to content

醫生常見問題 - 2021-22 季度本港季節性流感疫苗接種

醫生常見問題 - 2021-22 季度本港季節性流感疫苗接種
2021-09-14
  1. 建議接種的 2021-22 季度季節性流感疫苗有甚麽成分?
  2. 受資助人士須要接種多少劑季節性流感疫苗?
  3. 如首次接種季節性流感疫苗的9歲以下兒童須要接種兩劑疫苗,這兩劑疫苗是否需要屬同一種類?
  4. 如何為兒童接種準確的劑量?
  5. 何時最適宜接種流感疫苗?
  6. 有甚麼種類的季節性流感疫苗獲「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」建議在香港使用?
  7. 有甚麼種類的季節性流感疫苗適用於「疫苗資助計劃」?
  8. 誰不宜接種滅活季節性流感疫苗?
  9. 滅活流感疫苗是否安全?接種滅活流感疫苗可能有甚麼副作用?
  10. 誰不宜接種減活流感疫苗?
  11. 接種減活流感疫苗可能有甚麼副作用?
  12. 誰不宜接種重組流感疫苗?
  13. 接種重組流感疫苗可能有甚麼副作用?
  14. 季節性流感疫苗會否引致流感?
  15. 為何有些人接種了流感疫苗仍然會感染流感 / 有流感樣病徵?
  16. 2019冠狀病毒病疫苗可否與季節性流感疫苗同時接種?

 1. 建議接種的 2021-21 季度季節性流感疫苗有甚麽成分?

「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」建議在 2021-22 季度使用以雞胚生產的四價疫苗包括以下成分﹕

  • 類甲型/維多利亞/2570/2019 (H1N1)pdm-09病毒
  • 類甲型/柬埔寨/e0826360/2020(H3N2)病毒
  • 類乙型/華盛頓/02/2019病毒
  • 類乙型/布吉/3073/2013病毒

「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」建議在 2021-22 季度使用以重組技術生產的四價疫苗包括以下成分︰

  • 類甲型/威斯康辛/588/2019 (H1N1)pdm-09病毒
  • 類甲型/柬埔寨/e0826360/2020(H3N2)病毒
  • 類乙型/華盛頓/02/2019病毒
  • 類乙型/布吉/3073/2013病毒

如果三價流感疫苗被採用,當中的乙型流感成分應包括類乙型/華盛頓/02/2019病毒。

2. 受資助人士須要接種多少劑流感疫苗

建議 9 歲或以上人士應接種一劑 2021-22 季度季節性流感疫苗。為確保對季節性流感產生足夠的免疫力,凡 9 歲以下從未接種過季節性流感疫苗的兒童,均須在 2021-22 季度接種兩劑季節性流感疫苗,而兩劑疫苗接種時間須至少相隔四個星期。在 2020-21 季度或以前曾接種過季節性流感疫苗的兒童,在 2021-22 季度只須接種一劑季節性流感疫苗。

3. 如首次接種季節性流感疫苗的9歲以下兒童須要接種兩劑疫苗,這兩劑疫苗是否需要屬同一種類

不是。第一和第二劑疫苗並不需要屬相同種類,然而兩劑疫苗的接種時間需要相隔至少四個星期。

4. 如何為兒童接種準確的劑量?

醫生應參考個別產品說明書註明的建議適用年齡及接種劑量的資料。

5. 何時最適宜接種流感疫苗

由於在接種疫苗後,身體需約兩星期才能產生抗體來預防季節性流感病毒,因此我們建議合資格人士應儘早前往已登記參與計劃的私家醫生診所接種疫苗,以應對可能的冬季流感季節。

6. 有甚麼種類的季節性流感疫苗獲「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」建議在香港使用?

滅活流感疫苗、重組流感疫苗和減活噴鼻式流感疫苗均獲疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會建議在香港使用。就滅活流感疫苗而言,由於四價疫苗提供多一種乙型流感病毒的額外保護,因此四價滅活流感疫苗相對於三價滅活流感疫苗應予優先採用。視乎個別疫苗品牌,大部份滅活流感疫苗適用於6個月以上的人士,包括健康人士、懷孕婦女和有長期健康問題的人士。重組流感疫苗適用於18歲或以上的人士使用。減活噴鼻式流感疫苗是一種四價疫苗,適用於2至49歲的人士,除懷孕,免疫力低或有其他禁忌症的人士。在選用疫苗時,應參考產品的包裝說明。

7. 有甚麼種類的季節性流感疫苗適用於「疫苗資助計劃」

「疫苗資助計劃」會包括「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」建議的已在本港註冊及供應的流感疫苗種類。本港所有可用的2021-22 季度流感疫苗均是四價流感疫苗。

8. 誰不宜接種滅活季節性流感疫苗

對任何疫苗成分或接種任何流感疫苗後曾出現嚴重過敏反應的人士,都不宜接種滅活季節性流感疫苗。對雞蛋有輕度過敏的人士如欲接種流感疫苗,可於基層醫療場所接種滅活流感疫苗,而曾對雞蛋有嚴重過敏反應的人士,應由專業醫護人員在能識別及處理嚴重敏感反應的適當醫療場所內接種。流感疫苗內雖含有卵清蛋白(即雞蛋白質),但疫苗製造過程經過反覆純化,卵清蛋白的含量極低,即使對雞蛋敏感的人士,在一般情況下亦能安全接種。至於出血病症患者或服用抗凝血劑的人士,應請教醫生。如接種當日發燒,可延遲至病癒後才接種疫苗。

(注意事項:所有醫生應小心閱讀他們已購買的疫苗產品資料,並特別留意禁忌症、注射方法、兒童的劑量和有效日期。)

9. 滅活流感疫苗是否安全?接種滅活流感疫苗可能有甚麼副作用?

滅活流感疫苗十分安全,除了接種處可能出現痛楚、紅腫外,一般並無其他副作用。部分人士會在接種後 6 至 12 小時内可能出現發燒、肌肉疼痛,以及疲倦等症狀,這些症狀通常會在兩天內減退。若持續發燒或不適,請諮詢醫生。如出現風疹塊、口舌腫脹或呼吸困難等較為罕見的嚴重的過敏反應,患者必須立即求醫。

一些罕見但嚴重的不良情況也可能在接種流感疫苗後出現,如吉-巴氏綜合症 (每 100 萬個接種疫苗的人士中約有一至兩宗個案),以及嚴重過敏反應 (每分發 1000 萬劑疫苗中有 9 宗個案)。不過,接種流感疫苗與這些不良情況未必一定有因果關係。有研究顯示在感染流感後出現吉-巴氏綜合症的風險 (每 100 萬個感染者有 17.20 宗個案) 遠比接種流感疫苗後 (每 100 萬個接種疫苗的人士中有 1.03 宗個案) 為高。

(The Lancet Infectious Diseases. 2013 Sep; 13(9): 769-76)

10. 誰不宜接種減活流感疫苗?

減活流感疫苗含有已弱化的病毒,參考美國、英國和加拿大的建議,有下列任何情況的人士均不宜接種減活流感疫苗:

  • 對任何疫苗成分或接種任何流感疫苗後曾出現嚴重過敏反應;
  • 正服用阿士匹林或含水楊酸鹽藥物的兒童和青少年;
  • 患有哮喘或在過去12個月內曾患上喘鳴的兩歲至四歲兒童**;
  • 因任何原因導致免疫功能減弱的兒童#及成人;
  • 免疫系統嚴重受抑制而需在受保護的環境下接受護理的人士之緊密接觸者和照顧者;
  • 懷孕;及
  • 在過去 48 小時曾服用流感抗病毒藥物。

**英國建議在過去72小時內有喘鳴病史或在過去72小時內增加使用支氣管擴張劑的兒童應接種滅活流感疫苗。另外,須要口服類固醇作為控制哮喘治療或曾經因哮喘發作而須要接受深切治療的兒童在接種減活流感疫苗前應尋求醫生意見。加拿大建議患有嚴重哮喘(正使用口服或高劑量吸入式類固醇或有喘鳴)或在疫苗接種前7天內患有喘鳴的人士不應使用減活流感疫苗。

#根據加拿大的指引,為帶有人類免疫缺乏病毒孩童接種肌肉注射流感疫苗仍是標準做法。就正在服用高效能抗愛滋病毒治療及有足夠免疫功能的2至17歲帶有人類免疫缺乏病毒的人士,減活流感疫苗或可作為他們接種流感疫苗的另一選項,而有關判斷須按個別情況而定。

對雞蛋有輕度過敏的人士如欲接種流感疫苗,可於基層醫療場所接種減活流感疫苗,而曾對雞蛋有嚴重過敏反應的人士,應由專業醫護人員在能識別及處理嚴重敏感反應的適當醫療場所內接種。流感疫苗內雖含有卵清蛋白(即雞蛋白質),但疫苗製造過程經過反覆純化,卵清蛋白的含量極低,即使對雞蛋敏感的人士,在一般情況下亦能安全接種。

醫療服務提供者應參考個別產品說明書的詳細資料。

11. 接種減活流感疫苗可能有甚麼副作用?

接種減活流感疫苗後最常見的副作用包括:鼻塞或流鼻水 (所有年齡人士)、發燒 (兒童) 和喉嚨痛 (成人)。孕婦接種減活流感疫苗的安全性尚未被確認。五歲以下的兒童患上反覆喘鳴或任何年齡的哮喘患者,在接種減活流感疫苗後可能會增加喘鳴的風險。

12. 誰不宜接種重組流感疫苗?

重組流感疫苗適用於18歲或以上的人士使用。對任何重組流感疫苗成分曾出現過敏反應的人士,都不宜接種重組流感疫苗。出血病症患者或服用抗凝血劑的人士,應請教醫生。如接種當日發燒,可延遲至病癒後才接種疫苗。詳情請向醫生查詢。重組流感疫苗的製作過程中並不涉及蛋。

13. 接種重組流感疫苗可能有甚麼副作用?

接種重組流感疫苗後最常見的副作用包括︰接種處可能出現痛楚和壓痛。接種者也可能出現頭痛、疲倦、肌肉疼痛和關節痛等。

14. 季節性流感疫苗會否引致流感?

滅活流感疫苗內含有已殺死的病毒,而重組流感疫苗含有的血球凝集素是一種流感病毒表面抗原,, 因此這兩種疫苗都不會引致流感。而減活流感疫苗的病毒已經弱化,因此不會在免疫功能正常的人士身上引致流感。但由於理論上,已經弱化的減活流感疫苗的病毒有可能傳染給免疫系統嚴重受抑制並需在受保護的環境下接受護理的人士,因此這類人士之緊密接觸者和照顧者都不應接種減活流感疫苗。

15. 為何有些人接種了流感疫苗仍然會感染流感 / 有流感樣病徵?

有些人接種了流感疫苗後仍感染流感 / 有流感樣病徵的主要原因有以下幾個。第一,由於接種疫苗後身體約需兩星期產生抗體,所以如在接種後不久就受流感病毒感染,該人士仍會因身體未有足夠抗體而生病。第二,其他呼吸道病毒感染亦可引致類似流感的病徵,使患者誤以為自己感染流感。第三,小部分人士在接種滅活流感疫苗後會出現副作用,例如發燒或肌肉疼痛,令接受疫苗接種者誤以為自己患上流感。最後,流感疫苗不能提供完全的保護作用,因為疫苗效能受多項因素影響,包括疫苗病毒株與流行病毒株的匹配程度,和接受疫苗接種者本身的個人因素 (例如年齡) 。儘管如此,所有年滿 6 個月或以上人士,除個別有已知禁忌症的人士外,都應每年接種季節性流感疫苗,因為這是其中一種有效減低患上季節性流感及其併發症風險的方法,亦可減低因流感而入院留醫和死亡的機會。

16. 2019冠狀病毒病疫苗可否與季節性流感疫苗同時接種?

現時有關新冠疫苗與其他疫苗同時接種的數據有限,建議接種新冠疫苗(復必泰或克爾來福)與其他疫苗之間應最少相隔14天。