Skip to content

Healthy Chinese Banquet? Good choices make all the difference

Hong Kong people are famous for the love for food, and delicious food plays an important part of our daily lives. A lot of times, a family gathering or social occasion is considered complete with a grand Chinese banquet. When we choose the dishes, however, our concern should not be limited to picking the food with the right appearance, aroma and taste. We should also adopt a healthy approach and bear in mind the importance of a balanced diet.
 

Principles of choosing healthy Chinese dishes:

  1. Number of courses and portion sizes

    When ordering, aim for a suitable amount of food according to the number of people attending the feast and their appetite. Order food to satisfy our hunger but not our taste buds, and do not attempt to show our hospitality by the number and portion of the courses. Instead, we should order fewer dishes for a start, and place additional orders of rice, noodles or other dishes later on when needed. We can also ask for the advice on the number of courses from the waiter to avoid ordering more than what is needed, which may cause overeating.

  2.  
  3. Choice of ingredients and food combination

    When choosing what to eat, we often take personal preference and the taste and appearance of food into account, but a balanced combination of food should be a more important factor to consider. Many people focus on ordering meat and fresh or dried seafood as the main courses, but tend to ignore vegetables and grains when dining out. However, whether it is Chinese or Western meal, the Healthy Eating Food Pyramid should be the principle to refer to when ordering food, i.e. vegetables and grains should be the main ingredients of the dishes ordered. For example, a third to half of the ingredients of all dishes should be vegetables (e.g. leafy vegetables, sprouts, gourds, root vegetables and tubers, mushrooms and seaweeds, as well as beans), with the rest being protein-rich food such as meat, poultry, fish, seafood, legumes and bean products. We should also remember to consume an adequate amount of grains, such as rice and noodles. It would be ideal if the meal is completed with fruit.

     

    When selecting the dishes, we should reduce the use of ingredients that are high in fat, cholesterol, salt or sugar. We should also pay attention to the following principles.

    • Meat: We should choose fresh lean meat, fish or seafood. Poultry should be skinned before eating. Limit the intake of fatty meat (e.g., roast pork, stewed fatty pork, pork belly, spare ribs, Chinese ham, pork feet and pig's ears), poultry with skin (e.g., roast duck, chicken claw, chicken wings and goose feet), offals (e.g., pig's brain, liver, kidney and large intestine, chicken gizzard, fish roe, shrimp paste and crab paste) and preserved meat (e.g., barbecued meat, salted or smoked meat, salted fish and salted eggs). Seafood that is rich in cholesterol, such as abalone, cuttlefish, squid and hairy crab should only be eaten in moderation.

    • Bean products: Choose dry beans and bean curds which are lower in fat content, and try to reduce the use of deep-fried or preserved bean products, such as fried bean curds, fried bean curd stick, fried bean curd sheets and fried gluten.

    • Vegetables: Most of the vegetables are naturally high in dietary fibre, low in fat and cholesterol-free. However, preserved vegetables should be limited, e.g., fermented cabbage, preserved mustard green and pickles.

    • Soups: Soups with vegetables, lean meat or fish as ingredients are generally healthier choices than those with fatty meat and pork bones. Light broths are usually lower in carbohydrates, fat and energy when compared with chowders and thick soups.

    • Grains: Limit consumption of fried grains, such as E-fu noodles, oily noodles, fried rice, fried noddles and fried glutinous rice. Better choices include white rice and noodles or rice vermicelli in soup.
  4.  
  5. Cooking method

    The dishes should largely be prepared with low-fat cooking methods. Boiling, steaming, stewing, baking and simmering are some of the better ways to process the food. Try to eat less dishes with deep-frying food (e.g., sweet and sour pork, deep-fried crab claws and deep-fried chicken) and dishes added with a lot of condiments (e.g., spare ribs in sweetened vinegar, stir-fried beef in sweetened soy sauce). Also watch out for keywords like 'fried', 'deep-fried' 'with spicy salt', 'salted crispy', 'roasted with sauce', 'fried or sautéed in sauce' etc. These words often indicate the excessive use of oil or salt during the preparation.

  6.  
  7. Desserts

    Try to reduce fried or deep-fried desserts (e.g., deep-fried doughnuts or pastry with red bean paste, deep-fried mango rolls), as well as desserts that are made with ingredients rich in saturated fat (e.g., coconut milk, coconut shreds and ingredients with animal fat added, such as lotus seed paste, red bean paste, yolk butter and puff pastry). Alternatives with less fat include sweet soup of papaya and white fungus, bean curd stick in sweet soup, red bean soup and mung bean soup. As for sesame soup, walnut soup and almond soup, they contain less saturated fat which is adversely affect the heart health, but generally speaking, they are still high in fat and should only be consumed in moderation.

    Having said so, as most of the desserts are prepared with excessive amount of sugar, the healthiest way will be using fresh fruit as the desserts after a feast.

  8.  
  9. Beverages

    As for drinks, try to avoid alcohol (including spirits, wines and beers) and keep high-sugar drinks (e.g., soft drinks and concentrated fruit juice) to a minimum. Instead, water, tea, clear soup or other low-sugar drinks (e.g., diet soft drinks, low-sugar green tea, low-sugar chrysanthemum tea and low-sugar soy milk) are good choices of beverages.

 

Other tips on healthy Chinese dining

  • Limit intake of snacks with high fat or salt content, such as roasted salted peanuts and pickles.

  • Request the chef to cook with less oil, soy sauce and condiments, and have the dishes and their sauces to be served separately.

  • Ask the waiter to serve vegetables, soup, rice, noodles or dishes cooked with less oil first. This will increase our sense of fullness before eating food that is higher in fat, thereby reducing the consumption of such.

  • When holding a banquet, arrange for one to two vegetarian dishes to meet the taste of different guests and encourage everyone to eat more vegetables.

  • Reduce the condiments available on the table, such as salt, soy sauce, oyster sauce, chilli sauce and chilli oil.
 

Sample Chinese banquet menus

Sample 1: For general occasion (serves 8-10 persons)

  • Stir-fried scallops, celery and fresh lily bulbs

  • Stuffed hairy gourds with minced dace

  • Grass carp soup with papaya and white fungus

  • Steamed garoupa fillets in lotus leaf wrap

  • Simmered vegetables and mushroom in fish soup

  • Braised pork and bean curds with mixed vegetables and white fungus

  • Dumplings in broth

  • Braised rice noodles with white cabbage and chicken

  • Sweet soup of aloe and water chestnuts

  • Fruit platter

  • (Beverages: Chinese tea and sugar cane drink with no added sugar)

 
Sample 2: Business dinner (serves 8-10 persons)

  • Steamed chicken and jelly fish platter

  • Abalone slices with sea cucumber and lettuce

  • Steamed soup of vegetables and seafood in wax gourd

  • Braised bamboo fungus with mushrooms and vegetables

  • Steamed garoupa

  • Crab meat and pea sprouts with garlic

  • Shrimp wontons with noodles

  • Steamed rice with asparagus and egg white in lotus leaf wrap

  • Sweet soup of hashima, red dates and lotus seeds

  • Fruit platter

  • (Beverages: Chinese tea and fresh orange juice)

Skip to content

健康中菜 ─ 選擇有道 配搭得宜

香港人素來講究飲食,美食更是日常生活中不可缺少的一部份。無論是與親人共渡佳節,或是社交應酬,少不了吃一頓豐富美味的中菜。可是,大家在選擇菜式時,除了考慮其色、香、味之外,亦應從健康的角度出發,勿因美食當前而忘記均衡飲食對身體健康的重要性。
 

享用健康中菜的主要原則

  1. 菜式數量及分量

    點選菜式時應該根據用膳人數及各人胃口來安排適量的菜餚,勿為了大飽口福或是為免「有失體面」而預備過量的食物。我們可先選較少菜式數量開始,若有需要才額外點選飯、麵或菜餚;亦可請侍應就菜式的數量給予意見,以免因點了太多食物而導致進食過量。

  2.  
  3. 食物材料及配搭

    選擇菜式時除了個人喜好以及食物的外觀和味道外,更應注重食物的均衡配搭。很多人在出外用膳時都會較重視肉類、海鮮或海味等主菜,而忽略了蔬菜和穀物類的食物。其實無論是中餐或西餐,都應參考「健康飲食金字塔」的原則盡量以蔬菜和穀物類作為主要的材料。例如蔬菜類(包括葉菜、芽菜、瓜類、根莖類、菌藻類和豆類等)應佔主菜的三分之一至一半左右,其餘的才是肉、家禽、魚、海鮮、乾豆及豆製品等含豐富蛋白質的食物,並配以適量飯、麵等穀物類食物。飯後若能加上水果,則更為理想。

     

    選擇菜式時亦應減少選用含高脂肪、高膽固醇、高鹽分或高糖分的材料,並留意以下原則:

    • 肉類:應選擇新鮮的瘦肉、魚或海鮮,進食家禽前應將之去皮,並減少選擇肥肉(如燒肉、扣肉、腩肉、排骨、金華火腿、豬手和豬耳)、連皮家禽(如片皮鴨、鷄腳、鷄翼、鵝掌等)、內臟(如豬腦、豬肝、豬腰、豬大腸、鷄胗、魚卵、蝦膏和蟹膏)以及醃製的肉類(如燒味、臘味、鹹魚、鹹蛋等)。至於膽固醇含量較高的海產食物,如鮑魚、墨魚、魷魚、大閘蟹等,亦應適可而止。

    • 豆製品:應選擇脂肪含量較低的豆腐和乾豆類,減少選擇經油炸處理或醃製的豆製品,如豆腐卜、炸枝竹、腐皮、齋滷味等。

    • 蔬菜:大部份蔬菜類屬天然、高纖及低脂,亦不含膽固醇,但應減少選擇醃製的蔬菜,如梅菜、雪菜、酸瓜等。

    • 湯:一般來說,以蔬菜、瘦肉或魚作材料會較肥肉和豬骨等健康,而清湯則通常比羹和濃湯含較低的碳水化合物、脂肪和熱量。

    • 穀物類:經油炸或炒的穀物類,如伊麵、油麵、炒飯、炒麵、生炒糯米飯等均不宜多吃,可選擇白飯、湯麵、湯米等。
  4.  
  5. 烹調方法

    菜式應盡量以清淡為主,採用少油烹調方法如白焯、清蒸、燉、焗和烚為佳,盡量減少油炸(如咕嚕肉、炸蟹鉗和炸子雞等)和添加大量調味料(如糖醋排骨、京醬炒牛柳)的菜式。點菜時應留意「香煎」、「酥炸」、「椒鹽」、「鹽酥」、「紅燒」、「醬爆」、「醬汁炒」等烹調字眼,因為這些菜式往往含較多的油分或鹽分。

  6.  
  7. 甜品

    應盡量減少煎炸甜點(如高力豆沙、豆沙窩餅和酥炸香芒卷等),以及用含高飽和脂肪的材料(如椰汁、椰絲和加入了動物脂肪的蓮蓉、豆沙、奶黃和酥皮等)製作的食物。較低脂的選擇有冰糖雪耳燉木瓜、鮮腐竹糖水、紅豆沙和綠豆沙等。至於芝蔴糊、合桃糊和杏仁糊等,雖含較少能影響心血管健康的飽和脂肪,但仍屬較高脂的甜品,應適可而止。

    由於絕大部份甜品都添加了大量糖分,所以最健康的做法還是以各種新鮮的水果作甜品。

  8.  
  9. 飲品

    飲品方面,酒精飲品宜避免(包括烈酒、葡萄酒和啤酒)而高糖分飲品(如汽水和濃縮果汁等)只宜淺嚐,建議以清水、清茶、清湯或其他低糖分的飲品(如健怡汽水、低糖綠茶、低糖菊花茶和低糖豆漿等)代替。

 

其他小貼士

  • 減少選用一些較高脂肪或鹽分的小食,如鹽焗花生、酸瓜和醬瓜等。
  • 預先要求酒家在烹調菜餚時少用食油、醬油和調味料,以及把醬汁與食物分開供應。
  • 請侍應先供應蔬菜、湯、飯、麵或較清淡的食物,以便在進食較高脂肪的食物前增加飽肚感,從而減少食用過多脂肪和肉類。
  • 設宴時,可安排其中一至兩道菜式為素菜,以迎合不同客人的口味,亦可鼓勵大家多進食蔬菜。
  • 盡量減少放在飯桌上的調味料,如淮鹽、豉油、蠔油、辣椒醬和辣椒油等。
 

中式晚宴餐單示範

示範一:一般晚宴(供八至十位用)
  • 西芹鮮百合炒帶子
  • 鯪魚球釀節瓜甫
  • 木瓜雪耳鯇魚湯
  • 荷香蒸班球
  • 魚湯蠔菇浸時蔬
  • 錦繡(雜菜粒和雲耳)肉片扒豆腐
  • 上湯餃子
  • 白菜嫩雞燴米線
  • 蘆薈馬蹄露
  • 鮮果拼盆
  • (飲品:茶、低糖竹蔗水)
 
示範二:商務晚宴(供八至十位用)
  • 白切雞涼拌海蜇拼盆
  • 海參菜膽鮑魚片
  • 八寶冬瓜盅
  • 竹笙花菇扒上素
  • 清蒸東星斑
  • 蒜香蟹肉豆苗
  • 鮮蝦雲吞麵
  • 翡翠(蘆筍)蛋白蒸荷葉飯
  • 雪蛤紅棗蓮子糖水
  • 鮮果拼盆
  • (飲品:茶、鮮榨橙汁)