Brand Hong Kong
GovHK 繁體版 简体版 Search Search Site map Contact us
Font Size: Default Size Font Size: Larger Font Size: Largest
RSS
17 May 2017
Mycoplasma pneumoniae infection  

Causative agent

It is caused by the bacterium Mycoplasma pneumoniae. Mycoplasma pneumoniae infection can occur at any time of the year. Epidemics may occur every 3 to 4 years in the general population.

Clinical features

Mycoplasma pneumoniae most commonly causes acute upper and lower respiratory illness and the disease usually has a prolonged, gradual onset. The majority of patients present with upper respiratory tract symptoms, which may include fever, cough, sore throat, malaise and headache. Only 5 – 10% of infected patients develop atypical pneumonia. It is recognised as one of the most common causes of community-acquired pneumonia in otherwise healthy patients younger than 40 years, with the highest rate in individuals aged 5 – 20 years. Although Mycoplasma pneumoniae infection usually causes mild illness, severe complications such as severe pneumonia, encephalitis, renal impairment, and haemolytic anaemia may occur.

Mode of transmission

The disease is mainly transmitted from person-to-person by droplets. It may also be spread by direct contact with the nose and throat discharges of infected persons; or indirectly through contaminated articles freshly soiled by secretions of the infected person. Outbreaks usually occur in crowded institutional settings such as schools and residential homes.

Incubation period

The incubation period is commonly 3 weeks with a range of 1 – 4 weeks.

Management

Antibiotics are very effective in treating Mycoplasma pneumoniae infection.


Prevention

Vaccine is not available at the moment. As a general measure to prevent respiratory diseases, the members of public are advised to:

  • Build up good body immunity by having a proper diet, regular exercise and adequate rest, reducing stress and avoiding smoking.
     
  • Observe personal hygiene
    • Wash hands frequently with liquid soap and water, especially before touching the mouth, nose or eyes, or after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs.
    • Cover nose and mouth with tissue paper when coughing or sneezing, and wash hands thoroughly afterwards. Dispose of soiled tissue paper in a lidded rubbish bin.
    • Put on a surgical mask when having respiratory symptoms. Refrain from work or school and seek medical advice promptly. 
  • Observe environmental hygiene
    • Maintain good ventilation of indoor areas.
    • Frequently clean and disinfect touched surface such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 99 parts of water), leave for 15 - 30 minutes, and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
    • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, vomitus or excreta, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 49 parts of water), leave for 15 - 30 minutes and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
Printer Friendly Printer Friendly
e-Resources e-Resources
Top   Top
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

香港品牌
GovHK 香港政府一站通 English 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
字型大小: 原設定 字型大小: 較大 字型大小: 最大
RSS
2017年5月17日
肺炎支原體感染  

病原體

這是由一種名為肺炎支原體的細菌所引起的傳染病,在全年任何時間皆會發生,按過往趨勢顯示,在普遍人口當中,大約每 3 - 4 年便可能出現一次流行性爆發。

病徵

肺炎支原體最常引致急性上呼吸道及下呼吸道感染,患者通常要經過一段時間才會逐漸病發。大部分受到感染的病人只會出現輕微上呼吸道感染徵狀,包括發燒、咳嗽、喉嚨痛、疲倦及頭痛等,只有5 - 10 %的病人會患上非典型肺炎。健康及較年輕(少於40歲)的社區感染肺炎患者中,肺炎支原體是最常見的病原體之一,介乎 5 - 20 歲的社區感染肺炎病人的感染率最高。雖然肺炎支原體感染通常只會引起輕微疾病,但嚴重併發症仍可出現,如重症肺炎、腦炎、腎功能受損和溶血性貧血等。

傳播途徑

肺炎支原體感染主要在人與人之間經飛沫傳播。此病亦可透過直接接觸患者的鼻喉分泌物傳播;或透過接觸剛被患者分泌物染污的物件而間接傳播。該病菌可引致爆發,尤其以擠逼的學校/院舍的風險較高。

潛伏期

潛伏期可介乎 1 - 4星期,通常為 3星期。

治理方法

抗生素能有效地治療肺炎支原體感染。

預防措施

現時並沒有疫苗可預防肺炎支原體感染,市民應採取一般預防呼吸道感染的措施:

  • 增強抵抗力有助預防感染。應保持均衡飲食、恆常運動、充足休息,避免過度緊張和避免吸煙。
     
  • 注意個人衞生
    • 經常使用梘液和清水潔手,特別在觸摸口、鼻或眼之前,或觸摸扶手或門把等公共設施後。
    • 咳嗽或打噴嚏時,用紙巾掩蓋口鼻,其後應徹底洗手。將染污的紙巾棄置於有蓋垃圾箱內。
    • 如出現呼吸道感染病徵,應佩戴外科口罩。切勿上班或上學,並及早求醫。
       
  • 保持環境衞生
    • 保持室內空氣流通。
    • 經常清潔和消毒常接觸的表面、如傢俬、玩具和共用物件。使用 1 比 99 稀釋家用漂白水(即把1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 99 份清水混和)消毒,待 15 - 30 分鐘後,用水清洗並抹乾。金屬表面則可用70%火酒清潔消毒。
    • 用吸水力強的即棄抹巾清理可見的污物,如呼吸道分泌物、嘔吐物或排泄物,然後用1 比 49 稀釋家用漂白水(即把 1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 49 份清水混和)消毒被污染的地方及鄰近各處 ,待 15 - 30 分鐘後,用水清洗並抹乾。金屬表面則可用70%火酒清潔消毒。
友善列印 友善列印
網上資源 網上資源
頁首   頁首
 
2A無障礙說明