Skip to content

Frequently Asked Questions on Seasonal Influenza

Frequently Asked Questions on Seasonal Influenza
2020-04-27
  1. What is Seasonal Influenza?
  2. What are the symptoms if I have got seasonal influenza?
  3. What should I do if I develop respiratory symptoms?
  4. How is seasonal influenza transmitted?
  5. How can I prevent getting seasonal influenza?
  6. When should I wash my hands?
  7. When shall I wear a surgical mask?
  8. Who should receive seasonal influenza vaccination?
  9. Which vaccine should members of the public get vaccinated, trivalent or quadrivalent vaccine?
  10. Is it necessary to get vaccinated against seasonal influenza every year?
  11. What are the possible side effects of the inactivated influenza vaccine?
  12. What are the possible side effects of the live attenuated influenza vaccine?

1.  What is Seasonal Influenza?

Seasonal influenza is an acute illness of the respiratory tract caused by influenza viruses. It is usually more common in periods from January to March/April and from July to August in Hong Kong.

2.  What are the symptoms if I have got seasonal influenza?

For healthy individuals, seasonal influenza is usually self-limiting with recovery in 2 – 7 days. Symptoms may include fever, cough, sore throat, runny nose, muscle pain, fatigue and headache; some may also have vomiting and diarrhoea. Cough is often severe and prolonged but fever and other symptoms generally resolve in 5 – 7 days. However, influenza can be a serious illness to the weak and frail or elderly people, and may be complicated by bronchitis, chest infection or even death.

3.  What should I do if I develop respiratory symptoms?

You should put on a surgical mask if you develop respiratory symptoms such as fever, cough, sore throat, runny nose, muscle pain, fatigue and headache; and should have adequate rest, drink plenty of water, refrain from work or attending class at school. You should seek medical advice if symptoms persist or deteriorate so that a diagnosis could be made early. Antibiotics, which target bacterial infection but not viral infection, will not cure influenza or make recovery faster. In addition, antiviral agents may reduce severity and duration of illness but must be used under doctor's prescription.

4.  How is seasonal influenza transmitted?

Influenza viruses mainly spread through droplets when infected people cough, sneeze or talk. The infection may also spread by direct contact with the secretions of infected persons.

5.  How can I prevent getting seasonal influenza?

  • Receive seasonal influenza vaccination for personal protection
  • Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before and after touching the mouth, nose or eyes; after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs; or when hands are contaminated by respiratory secretion after coughing or sneezing. Wash hands with liquid soap and water, and rub for at least 20 seconds. Then rinse with water and dry with either a clean cotton towel or a paper towel
  • If hand washing facilities are not available, or when hands are not visibly soiled, hand hygiene with 70 to 80% alcohol-based handrub is an effective alternative
  • Cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when coughing or sneezing. Dispose of soiled tissues into a lidded rubbish bin, then wash hands thoroughly
  • When having respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or attending class at school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly
  • Build up good body immunity by having a balanced diet, regular exercise, adequate rest, reducing stress, do not smoke and avoid alcohol consumption
  • Regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 99 parts of water), leave for 15-30 minutes, and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol
  • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 49 parts of water), leave for 15-30 minutes and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol and
  • Maintain good indoor ventilation. Avoid going to crowded or poorly ventilated public places; high-risk individuals may consider putting on surgical masks while in such places

6.  When should I wash my hands?

Remember to wash your hands under the following situations:

  • Before and after touching the eyes, nose and mouth
  • Before eating or preparing food
  • After using the toilet
  • When hands are contaminated by respiratory secretions, e.g. after coughing or sneezing
  • After touching public installations or equipment, such as escalator handrails, elevator control panels or door knobs
  • After changing diapers or handling soiled items from children or the sick
  • Before and after visiting hospitals, residential care homes or caring for the sick; and
  • After touching animals, poultry or their droppings

In general, members of the public should wash hands with liquid soap and water when hands are visibly dirty or visible soiled with blood and body fluid, after using the toilet or changing the diapers. If hand washing facilities are not available, or when hands are not visibly soiled, hand hygiene with 70 to 80% alcohol-based handrub is an effective alternative.

7.  When shall I wear a surgical mask?

Members of public should wear a surgical mask when respiratory symptoms develop, e.g. fever, runny nose, coughing or sneezing; or care for patients with respiratory symptoms and visit clinics or hospital. Avoid going to crowded or poorly ventilated public places; high-risk individuals may consider putting on surgical masks while in such places.

8.  Who should receive seasonal influenza vaccination?

Influenza can cause serious illnesses in high-risk individuals and even healthy persons. Given that seasonal influenza vaccines are safe and effective, all members of the public aged 6 months or above except those with known contraindications are recommended to receive influenza vaccine for personal protection.

9.  Which vaccine should members of the public get vaccinated, trivalent or quadrivalent vaccine?

Both trivalent (IIV3) and quadrivalent (IIV4) inactivated influenza vaccines are recommended for use in Hong Kong. Trivalent influenza vaccine may potentially prevent the majority of influenza burden in Hong Kong based on past laboratory data, while quadrivalent influenza vaccine may potentially offer additional protection against influenza B. Members of the public should consult their family doctors for details.

10.  Is it necessary to get vaccinated against seasonal influenza every year?

Yes. The circulating seasonal influenza strains may change from time to time. In accordance with the circulating strains, the seasonal influenza vaccine composition is updated every year to enhance protection. The immunity built up in a vaccinated person in the prior season will decrease over time and may become too low to provide protection in next season.

11.  What are the possible side effects of the inactivated influenza vaccine?

Inactivated influenza vaccine is very safe and usually well tolerated apart from occasional soreness, redness or swelling at the injection site. Some recipients may experience fever, muscle pain, and tiredness beginning 6 – 12 hours after vaccination and lasting up to 2 days. If fever or discomforts persist, please consult a doctor. Immediate severe allergic reactions like hives, swelling of the lips or tongue, and difficulties in breathing are rare and require emergency consultation.

Influenza vaccination may be rarely followed by serious adverse events such as Guillain-Barré syndrome (about 1 to 2 cases per million vaccinees) and severe allergic reaction (anaphylaxis) (9 in 10 million doses distributed). However, influenza vaccination may not necessarily have causal relations with these adverse events. Studies have shown that the risk of Guillain-Barré syndrome after influenza infection (17.20 per million) is much higher than after influenza vaccination (1.03 per million).

(The Lancet Infectious Diseases. 2013 Sep; 13(9): 769-76)

12.  What are the possible side effects of the live attenuated influenza vaccine?

The most common adverse reactions following live attenuated influenza vaccine administration are nasal congestion or runny nose (in all ages), fever (in children) and sore throat (in adults).  The safety in pregnant women has not been established.  Children aged below five years with recurrent wheezing/ persons of any age with asthma may be at increased risk of wheezing following administration.

Skip to content

季节性流行性感冒常见问题

季节性流行性感冒常见问题
2020-04-27
  1. 什么是季节性流行性感冒(流感)?
  2. 感染季节性流感后有何病征?
  3. 假如出现呼吸道感染病征,应怎样做?
  4. 流感是如何传播的
  5. 如何预防感染流感?
  6. 什么时候应清洁双手?
  7. 什么时候需要戴上外科口罩?
  8. 谁该接种季节性流感疫苗?
  9. 市民应接种三价或四价疫苗?
  10. 是否每年都要接种季节性流感疫苗?
  11. 灭活流感疫苗接种可能有甚么副作用?
  12. 减活流感疫苗可能有甚么副作用?

1.  什么是季节性流行性感冒(流感)?

季节性流感是由流感病毒引致的急性呼吸道疾病。在本港,流感一般于一至三/四月和七、八月较为流行。

2.  感染季节性流感后有何病征?

健康人士患上季节性流感后,通常会于2-7天内自行痊愈。病征包括发烧、咳嗽、喉咙痛、流鼻水、肌肉痛、疲倦和头痛;亦可能出现呕吐和腹泻等。咳嗽多是严重和持续时间较长,但发烧和其他病征一般会在5-7天内自行减退。然而,免疫力较低的人士或长者一旦染上流感,可以是严重的疾病,并且可能会出现支气管炎或肺炎等并发症,甚至死亡。

3.  假如出现呼吸道感染病征,应怎样做?

市民若出现呼吸道感染病征,包括发烧、咳嗽、喉咙痛、流鼻水、肌肉痛、疲倦和头痛,应戴上外科口罩并作充足休息和多喝水,不应上班或上学。如果病征持续或恶化,市民应尽快求诊,以便及早作出诊断。抗生素是治疗细菌感染而非病毒感染的药物,服用抗生素不能治愈流感或加快痊愈,而抗病毒剂能减轻病情和缩短患病时间,但必须经由医生处方才可服用。

4.  流感是如何传播的

流感病毒主要透过患者咳嗽、打喷嚏或说话时产生的飞沫传播,亦可透过直接接触患者的分泌物而传播。

5.  如何预防感染流感?

要预防感染流感,市民应该:

  • 接种季节性流感疫苗,以保障个人健康
  • 经常保持双手清洁,尤其在触摸口、鼻或眼之前和后;触摸扶手或门把等公共设施后;或当手被呼吸道分泌物污染时,如咳嗽或打喷嚏后。洗手时应以梘液和清水清洁双手,搓手最少20秒,用水过清并用干净毛巾或抹手纸抹干
  • 如没有洗手设施,或双手没有明显污垢时,使用含70至80%的酒精搓手液洁净双手亦为有效方法
  • 打喷嚏或咳嗽时应用纸巾掩盖口鼻,把用过的纸巾弃置于有盖垃圾箱内,然后彻底清洁双手
  • 当出现呼吸道感染病征,应戴上外科口罩,不应上班或上学,避免前往人多挤逼的地方,及尽早向医生求诊
  • 保持均衡饮食、恒常运动、充足休息,避免过度紧张、不要吸烟和避免饮酒,以建立良好身体抵抗力
  • 经常清洁和消毒常接触的表面,如家俬、玩具和共用物件。使用1比99稀释家用漂白水(即把1份5.25%漂白水与99份清水混和)消毒,待15-30分钟后,用水清洗并抹干。金属表面则可用70%火酒清洁消毒
  • 用吸水力强的即弃抹巾清理可见的污物,如呼吸道分泌物,然后用1比49稀释家用漂白水(即把1份5.25%漂白水与49份清水混和)消毒被污染的地方及邻近各处,待15-30分钟后,用水清洗并抹干。金属表面则可用70%火酒清洁消毒;以及
  • 保持室内空气流通。避免前往人多挤逼或空气流通欠佳的公众地方;高危人士在这些地方逗留时可考虑佩戴外科口罩

6.  什么时候应清洁双手?

市民在以下情况应清洁双手:

  • 接触眼、鼻及口之前和后
  • 进食或处理食物前
  • 如厕后
  • 当手被呼吸道分泌物污染时,如咳嗽或打喷嚏后
  • 触摸过公共物件,例如电梯扶手、升降机按钮或门柄后
  • 为幼童或病人更换尿片,或处理被污染的物件后
  • 探访医院、院舍或护理病人之前和后;及
  • 接触动物、家禽或其粪便后

一般情况下,当双手有明显污垢或被血液、体液沾污、如厕后或更换尿片后,应用梘液及清水洗手。如没有洗手设施,或当双手没有明显污垢时,使用含70至80%酒精搓手液洁净双手亦为有效方法。

7.  什么时候需要戴上外科口罩?

市民如有呼吸道感染症状时,如发烧、流鼻水、咳嗽或打喷嚏等,或要照顾有呼吸道症状的患者及进入诊所或医院时,均应戴上外科口罩。避免前往人多挤逼或空气流通欠佳的公众地方;高危人士在这些地方逗留时可考虑佩戴外科口罩。

8.  谁该接种季节性流感疫苗?

流感可于高危人士引致严重疾病,而健康人士亦会受影响。基于季节性流感疫苗安全有效,除有已知禁忌症的人士外,所有年满6个月或以上人士均应接种流感疫苗以保障个人健康

9.  市民应接种三价或四价疫苗?

三价和四价灭活流感疫苗均获建议在本港使用。根据过去实验室数据,三价疫苗预期可以预防大多数的流感个案,而四价疫苗则可能提供对抗乙型流感的额外保护。市民可向你的家庭医生查询详情。

10.  是否每年都要接种季节性流感疫苗?

是。流行的季节性流感病毒株可能会不时改变。季节性流感疫苗的成分须每年根据流行的病毒株而更新,以加强保护。在上一年度接种疫苗后建立的免疫力会随着时间降低,在下一年度可能会降至没有保护作用的水平。

11.  灭活流感疫苗接种可能有甚么副作用?

灭活季节性流感疫苗十分安全,除了接种处可能出现痛楚、红肿外,一般并无其他副作用。部分人士在接种后6 -12小时内可能出现发烧、肌肉疼痛,以及疲倦等症状,这些症状通常会在两天内减退。若持续发烧或不适,请谘询医生。如出现风疹块、口舌肿胀或呼吸困难等较为罕见的严重过敏反应,患者必须立即求医。

一些罕见但严重的不良情况也可能在接种流感疫苗后出现,如吉-巴氏综合症(每100万个接种疫苗的人士中约有一至两宗个案),以及严重过敏反应(每分发1,000万剂疫苗中有9宗个案)。不过,接种流感疫苗与这些不良情况未必一定有因果关系。有研究显示在感染流感后出现吉-巴氏综合症的风险(每100万个感染者有17.20宗个案)远比接种流感疫苗后 (每100万个接种疫苗的人士中有1.03宗个案)为高。

(The Lancet Infectious Diseases. 2013 Sep; 13(9): 769-76)

12.  减活流感疫苗可能有甚么副作用?

接种减活流感疫苗后最常见的副作用包括:鼻塞或流鼻水(所有年龄人士)、发烧(儿童)和喉咙痛(成人)。孕妇接种减活流感疫苗的安全性尚未被确认。五岁以下的儿童患上反复喘鸣或任何年龄的哮喘患者,在接种减活流感疫苗后可能会增加喘鸣的风险。