Skip to content

Middle East Respiratory Syndrome

Middle East Respiratory Syndrome

13 February 2018

Causative agent

Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) is a viral respiratory disease caused by a novel coronavirus that was first identified in Saudi Arabia in 2012. Coronaviruses are a large family of viruses which include viruses that may cause mild illness like common cold as well as severe illness like severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) in humans. There are 3 main subgroups of coronaviruses: alpha (α), beta (β) and gamma (γ). Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV) is a beta coronavirus which has not been identified in humans before and is different from other coronaviruses (including SARS-coronavirus) that have been found in humans or animals.

Clinical features

Infected persons may present with acute serious respiratory illness with symptoms including fever, cough, shortness of breath and breathing difficulties. Patients with MERS may develop severe complications such as pneumonia and kidney failure. Some also have gastrointestinal symptoms including diarrhoea and nausea/vomiting. In people with immune deficiencies, the disease may have atypical presentation. Some laboratory-confirmed cases of MERS-CoV infection are reported as asymptomatic. Approximately 35% of reported MERS patients died.

Mode of transmission

There is still uncertainty at the moment. People may be infected upon exposure to animals (especially camel), environment or other confirmed patients (such as in a hospital setting).

Based on the current information, MERS-CoV could be spread from person-to-person through close contact. Since April 2014, many cases appeared to be secondary cases which might have been infected from a confirmed patient. These secondary cases were mainly healthcare workers who were in close contact with or providing unprotected care to patients with MERS-CoV infection and were infected within healthcare settings.

Besides, scientific studies support that dromedary camels serve as a major reservoir host for MERS-CoV and an animal source of infection in humans.

Incubation period

2 – 14 days

Management

There is currently no specific treatment for the disease. Treatment is supportive.

Prevention

No vaccine is currently available to protect against MERS. The best preventive measure is to maintain good personal and environmental hygiene. While in Hong Kong or during travel, members of the public are advised to wear surgical mask and seek medical advice promptly if respiratory symptoms develop.

1. Maintain good personal hygiene

  • Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before touching the mouth, nose or eyes, after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs or when hands are contaminated by respiratory secretion after coughing or sneezing. Wash hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, then dry with a disposable paper towel or hand dryer. When hands are not visibly soiled, clean them with 70-80% alcohol-based handrub as an effective alternative.
  • Cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when sneezing or coughing. Dispose the soiled tissues into a lidded rubbish bin, then wash hands thoroughly.
  • When having respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly.
  • Build up good body immunity by having a balanced diet, regular exercise and adequate rest, do not smoke and avoid alcohol consumption.

2. Maintain good environmental hygiene

Though coronaviruses may survive for some time in the environment, they are easily destroyed by most detergents and cleaning agents. It is important to:

  • Regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 99 parts of water), leave for 15 - 30 minutes, and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
  • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 49 parts of water), leave for 15 - 30 minutes and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
  • Maintain good indoor ventilation. Avoid going to crowded or poor ventilated public places; high-risk individuals may consider putting on surgical masks while in such places.

Travel health advice

Consult a health care provider at least 6 weeks before travelling to review the risk, as pre-existing major medical conditions including diabetes, chronic lung disease, pre-existing renal failure, or immunocompromised conditions can increase the likelihood of medical problems, including MERS, during travel.

  • Avoid going to farms, barns and markets with camels.
  • Avoid contact with animals, especially camels including riding camels or participating in any activity involving contact with camels.
  • Wash hands before and after touching animals in case of visits to farms, barns or markets with camels.
  • Avoid close contact with sick people, especially with those suffering from acute respiratory infections, and avoid visit to healthcare settings with MERS patients.
  • Adhere to food safety and hygiene rules such as avoiding consuming raw or undercooked animal products, including milk and meat, or foods which may be contaminated by animal secretions, excretions (such as urine) or products, unless they have been properly cooked, washed or peeled.
  • If feeling unwell, put on a surgical mask and seek medical attention immediately.
    • Before departure: postpone your trip until recovery.
    • While overseas: inform hotel staff or tour leader.
    • After returning home: during medical consultation, inform doctor of recent travel history, including transit.

Special note for people planning to travel for pilgrimage

Pilgrims with pre-existing major medical conditions (e.g. diabetes, chronic lung disease, chronic renal disease, immunodeficiency, etc.) are more likely to develop severe infection for MERS if they are exposed to the virus. Thus, pilgrims should consult a health care provider before travelling to review the risk and assess whether making the pilgrimage is advisable. They are advised to delay travel if suffering from a significant acute respiratory illness with fever and cough.

Pilgrims should cover their mouth and nose when coughing or sneezing, and wash hands after contact with respiratory secretions. If suffering from acute febrile respiratory symptoms, keep a distance of one metre with other persons.
If pilgrims develop a significant acute respiratory illness with fever and cough (severe enough to interfere with usual daily activities) during Umra or Hajj, they should:

  • report to the medical staff accompanying the group or to the local health services;
  • cover their mouth and nose when coughing or sneezing, wash hands afterwards, or if this is not possible, cough or sneeze into upper sleeves of their clothing;
  • avoid attending crowded places and preferably isolate themselves until the end of the respiratory symptoms and, if isolation is not possible, use a surgical mask or a tissue for covering nose and mouth when in crowded places.

If pilgrims feel unwell during the two weeks after returning to Hong Kong, wear a surgical mask and seek medical attention immediately and inform doctor of recent travel history, including transit.

For details, please refer to the thematic webpage of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome.

 


e-Resources

Skip to content

中东呼吸综合症

中东呼吸综合症

2019年6月27日

按此浏览中东呼吸综合症专题网页

病原体

中东呼吸综合症是由一种新发现的冠状病毒引致的呼吸道疾病。这种冠状病毒在2012年于沙特阿拉伯首次被发现。冠状病毒可分为很多种类,包括可能导致轻微疾病如伤风的病毒,和可引致严重疾病如严重急性呼吸系统综合症 (沙士)的病毒。冠状病毒有三种主要类别,包括:alpha(α),beta(β)和gamma(γ)。而中东呼吸综合症冠状病毒属于beta 类别,以往从未在人类中发现,亦跟以往在人类或动物中发现的冠状病毒(包括引致「沙士」的冠状病毒)不同。

病征

患者可出现急性严重呼吸系统疾病,病征包括发烧、咳嗽、呼吸急促和困难。患者可出现肺炎或肾脏衰竭等严重并发症。有些患者还有肠胃方面的症状,如腹泻和恶心/呕吐。免疫力较弱的患者,可出现非典型病征。有些中东呼吸综合症确诊个案并没有任何病征。报告个案中,约百分之三十五死亡。

传播途径

现时仍未完全确定,可能透过接触动物(尤其是骆驼)、环境或确诊患者(例如在医院内)而受感染。

根据目前所掌握资料显示,中东呼吸综合症冠状病毒会经由紧密接触而出现人传人的情况。自2014年4月起,有众多个案为继发性个案,即透过接触确诊患者而受感染。此类个案主要是与中东呼吸综合症感染者有紧密接触或在没有防护的情况下向患者提供治疗的医护人员,相信于医护环境中受感染。

此外,科学研究支持单峰骆驼属中东呼吸综合症冠状病毒的主要宿主,且是人类感染的动物来源。


潜伏期

2 – 14天

治理方法

现时并未有针对性治疗此病的方法,主要为支援性治疗。

预防方法

目前没有预防中东呼吸综合症的疫苗。因此,最好的预防措施是保持良好的个人及环境卫生。无论在本地或外游期间,如市民出现呼吸道感染病征时,应佩戴外科口罩,并尽快求诊。

1. 保持良好的个人卫生

  • 经常保持双手清洁,尤其在触摸口、鼻或眼之前、触摸扶手或门把等公共设施后,或当手被呼吸道分泌物污染时,如咳嗽或打喷嚏后。洗手时应以梘液和清水清洁双手,搓手最少20秒,用水过清并用抹手纸或干手机弄干。如没有洗手设施,或双手没有明显污垢时,使用含70至80%的酒精搓手液洁净双手亦为有效方法。
  • 打喷嚏或咳嗽时应用纸巾掩盖口鼻,把用过的纸巾弃置于有盖的垃圾箱内,然后彻底清洁双手。
  • 当出现呼吸道感染病征,应戴上外科口罩,不应上班或上学,避免前往人多挤逼的地方,及尽早向医生求诊。
  • 保持均衡饮食、恒常运动、充足休息、不要吸烟和避免饮酒,以建立良好身体抵抗力。

2. 保持良好的环境卫生

虽然冠状病毒可能会在环境存活一段时间,但一般清洁剂都能轻易地消灭此病毒。我们切记要:

  • 定期清洁和消毒常接触的表面,如家俬、玩具和共用物件。使用 1 比 99 稀释家用漂白水(即把1 份 5.25% 漂白水与 99 份清水混和)消毒,待  15 - 30 分钟后,用水清洗并抹干。金属表面则可用70%火酒清洁消毒。
  • 用吸水力强的即弃抹巾清理可见的污物,如呼吸道分泌物,然后用1 比 49 稀释家用漂白水 (即把 1 份 5.25% 漂白水与 49 份清水混和)消毒被污染的地方及邻近各处,待 15 - 30 分钟后,用水清洗并抹干。金属表面则可用70%火酒清洁消毒。
  • 保持室内空气流通。避免前往人多挤逼、空气欠流通的公众地方;高危人士在这些地方逗留时可考虑佩戴外科口罩。

旅游健康建议

由于长期病患者(包括糖尿病、慢性肺病、肾功能衰竭或免疫力抑制性的疾病)于旅途中较易出现健康问题,包括感染中东呼吸综合症,因此,旅客应该于出发前最少6星期前谘询医生意见并评估旅游风险。

  • 避免到访农场、农庄及有骆驼的市集。
  • 旅程中避免接触动物特别是骆驼,包括骑骆驼或涉及接触骆驼的活动。
  • 一旦到访农场、农庄或有骆驼的市集,接触动物前后均应洗手。
  • 避免近距离接触患者,特别是有急性呼吸道感染症状的患者,及避免到中东呼吸综合症患者入住的医护环境。
  • 应注意食物安全和卫生,避免进食或饮用生或未熟透的动物产品,包括奶类和肉类,或食用可能被动物分泌物、排泄物(例如尿液)或产品污染的食物,除非已经煮熟、洗净或妥为去皮。
  • 如感到不适,应佩戴外科口罩及尽快求医。
    • 出发前:延迟行程,直至痊愈。
    • 在海外:告知酒店工作人员或领队。
    • 返港后:求诊时,告知医生近期的旅游纪录,包括过境之处。

给朝觐人士的建议

患有长期病患如糖尿病、慢性肺病、慢性肾病或免疫系统疾病等的朝觐人士如接触到中东呼吸综合症的病毒,患上严重中东呼吸综合症的机会会增加。因此,他们于出发前,应先谘询医生的意见,评估风险以了解是否适宜参加此次旅程。如果他们正患有急性呼吸系统疾病,出现发烧和咳嗽的病征,即应延迟旅程。

朝觐人士打喷嚏或咳嗽时应掩盖口鼻,在接触呼吸道分泌物后清洁双手。如有急性发热呼吸道症状,应与其他人保持一米的距离。

朝觐人士假如在朝圣期间出现急性呼吸道疾病、发烧和咳嗽(严重至足以影响日常生活),他们应该:

  • 向随团医护人员或当地医疗服务处报告;
  • 打喷嚏或咳嗽时应掩盖口鼻,然后清洁双手,如不可行,可咳嗽或打喷嚏到衣袖上;
  • 避免到人多挤逼的地方和应自我隔离直至没有呼吸道病征。如未能隔离,在人多挤逼的地方,应戴上外科口罩或用纸巾掩盖口鼻。

如返港后两星期内有身体不适,应佩戴外科口罩,立即求诊并告诉医生你近期的外游纪录,包括过境之处。


网上资源