Skip to content

Seasonal Influenza

Seasonal Influenza

27 December 2018

Click here to view the thematic webpage of Seasonal Influenza

Causative agents

Seasonal influenza is an acute illness of the respiratory tract caused by influenza viruses. It is usually more common in periods from January to March and from July to August in Hong Kong. Three types of seasonal influenza viruses are recognised to cause human infection, namely A, B and C. Influenza A viruses can further be subtyped on the basis of two surface antigens: haemagglutinin (H) and neuraminidase (N). Currently, there are two subtypes of seasonal influenza A viruses circulating in humans, namely influenza A (H1N1)pdm09 and influenza A (H3N2). In the spring of 2009, influenza A (H1N1)pdm09 virus emerged to cause illness in human and resulted in a pandemic in mid 2009. Influenza A (H1N1)pdm09 virus has now become one of the seasonal influenza strains worldwide.

Antigenic drifts (minor changes) of seasonal influenza viruses will lead to emergence of new strains. New strains appear from time to time and at irregular intervals. This explains why the World Health Organization will make recommendations on the formulation of influenza vaccine every year.

Seasonal influenza is different from influenza pandemic. The occurrence of influenza pandemic results from the emergence of a pandemic strain, which appears when antigenic shift (major change) occurs in a novel influenza virus resulting in efficient human-to-human transmission. People will have very little or no immunity to the virus, which causes the virus to spread more rapidly and extensively than a seasonal influenza virus.

Influenza pandemic occurred roughly every 10 – 50 years in the past. Nonetheless, the timing of a future pandemic cannot be predicted. It is usually associated with a large number of cases, higher severity of illness, a higher death toll and consequently greater social and economic disruption.

Clinical features

For healthy individuals, seasonal influenza is usually self-limiting with recovery in 2 – 7 days. Symptoms may include fever, cough, sore throat, runny nose, muscle pain, fatigue and headache; some may also have vomiting and diarrhoea. 

Cough is often severe and prolonged but fever and other symptoms generally resolve in 5 – 7 days. However, influenza can be a serious illness to the weak and frail or elderly people, and may be complicated by bronchitis, chest infection or even death.

Mode of transmission

Influenza viruses mainly spread through droplets when infected people cough, sneeze or talk. The infection may also spread by direct contact with the secretions of infected persons.

Incubation period

Usually around 1 – 4 days.

Infectious period

Infected persons may pass the viruses to other people 1 day before and up to 5 – 7 days after they develop symptoms. The period may be even longer in young children or severely immunocompromised persons.

Management

  • Have adequate rest and drink plenty of water.
  • Refrain from work or attending class at school when having symptoms of influenza. Seek medical advice if symptoms persist or deteriorate.
  • Antibiotics which target bacterial infection but not viral infection will not cure influenza or make recovery faster.
  • Antiviral agents may reduce severity and duration of illness but must be used under doctor's prescription.

Prevention

1. Seasonal influenza vaccination

  • The vaccine is safe and effective in preventing seasonal influenza and its complications.
  • Influenza can cause serious illnesses in high-risk individuals and even healthy persons. Given that seasonal influenza vaccines are safe and effective, all persons aged 6 months or above except those with known contraindications are recommended to receive influenza vaccine for personal protection.
  • Usually, it is suggested that vaccination should be received in autumn every year. About 2 weeks after vaccination, the body will develop a sufficient level of antibodies to protect against influenza virus infection.

*For details on seasonal influenza vaccination, please refer to Vaccination Schemes and Vaccination for Seasonal Influenza.

2. Maintain good personal hygiene

  • Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before touching the mouth, nose or eyes; after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs; or when hands are contaminated by respiratory secretion after coughing or sneezing.
  • Wash hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, then dry with a disposable paper towel or hand dryer. If hand washing facilities are not available, or when hands are not visibly soiled, hand hygiene with 70 - 80% alcohol-based handrub is an effective alternative. To perform hand hygiene properly, please browse the following webpage : https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/460/19728.html
  • Cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when sneezing or coughing. Dispose of soiled tissues into a lidded rubbish bin, then wash hands thoroughly.
  • When having respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or attending class at school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly.
  • Build up good body immunity by having a balanced diet, regular exercise, adequate rest, reducing stress, do not smoke and avoid alcohol consumption. 

3. Maintain good environmental hygiene

  • Regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 99 parts of water), leave for 15-30 minutes, and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
  • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 49 parts of water), leave for 15-30 minutes and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
  • Maintain good indoor ventilation. Avoid going to crowded or poorly ventilated public places; high-risk individuals may consider putting on surgical masks while in such places.

Other languages

Bahasa Indonesia Version
Bahasa Indonesia
Tagalog Version
Tagalog
Thai Version
ไทย
Hindi Version
हिन्दी
Nepali Version
नेपाली
Urdu Version
اردو

 


e-Resources

Skip to content

季节性流行性感冒

季节性流行性感冒

2020年4月24日

按此浏览季节性流行性感冒专题网页

病原体

季节性流行性感冒(流感)是由流感病毒引致的急性呼吸道疾病。在本港,流感一般于一至三/四月和七、八月较为流行。已知可感染人类的季节性流感病毒有三种类型:甲型、乙型和丙型。甲型流感病毒可依据病毒表面的血凝素(haemagglutinin,即H)及神经胺酸酶(neuraminidase,即N)两种抗原类型,再细分为不同亚型。目前,在人类中流行的季节性甲型流感病毒有两种亚型,分别是甲型(H1N1)pdm09 和甲型(H3N2)。在2009年春季,甲型(H1N1)pdm09流感病毒首次出现并导致人类感染个案,并在2009年中引致流感大流行。甲型(H1N1) pdm09流感病毒现已成为全球季节性流感病毒株之一。

季节性流感病毒抗原漂移的出现(轻微改变)会产生新的病毒株。流感病毒会不时衍生新的病毒株,且没有规律。因此,世界卫生组织每年会建议流感季节应采用的流感疫苗组合。

季节性流感和流感大流行不同。当新型流感病毒出现抗原转移(重大改变)而导致其可以有效地人传人时,就会产生能造成流感大流行的病毒品种。人类对这种病毒的抵抗力有限,甚至没有抵抗力,令新病毒比季节性流感传播得更迅速及广泛。

流感大流行在过去每隔约 10 - 50 年出现一次。然而,流感大流行在未来出现的时间是无法预测的。流感大流行通常伴随较多感染个案及较严重的病情,引致较高死亡率,并对社会及经济造成极大影响。

病征

健康的人患上季节性流感后,通常会于二至七天内自行痊愈。病征可包括发烧、咳嗽、喉咙痛、流鼻水、肌肉痛、疲倦和头痛;亦可能出现呕吐和腹泻等。

咳嗽多是严重和持续时间较长,但发烧和其他病征一般会在五至七天内自行减退。然而,免疫力较低的人士或长者一旦染上流感,可以是严重的疾病,并且可能会出现支气管炎或肺炎等并发症,甚至死亡。

传播途径

流感病毒主要透过患者咳嗽、打喷嚏或说话时产生的飞沫传播,亦可透过直接接触患者的分泌物而传播。

潜伏期

一般约为一至四天。

传染期

患者可在病发前约一天至病发后五至七天内感染他人。而幼儿或免疫功能严重受损人士的传染期甚至会更长。

治理方法

  • 充足休息和多喝水。
  • 若出现流感病征,不应上班或上学。如果病征持续或恶化,应立即求诊。
  • 抗生素是治疗细菌感染而非病毒感染的药物,服用抗生素不能治愈流感或加快痊愈。
  • 抗病毒剂能减轻病情和缩短患病时间,但必须经由医生处方才可服用。

预防方法

1. 季节性流感疫苗接种

  • 疫苗能安全和有效地预防季节性流感和其并发症。
  • 流感可于高危人士引致严重疾病,而健康人士亦会受影响。基于季节性流感疫苗安全有效,除有已知禁忌症的人士外,所有年满6个月或以上人士均应接种流感疫苗以保障个人健康。
  • 一般建议在每年秋天时分接种流感疫苗,接种疫苗后约两星期,体内便会产生足够抗体对抗流感。

*有关季节性流感疫苗的详细资料,请浏览疫苗接种计划季节性流感疫苗接种

2. 保持良好的个人卫生

  • 经常保持双手清洁,尤其在触摸口、鼻或眼之前和后;触摸扶手或门把等公共设施后;或当手被呼吸道分泌物污染时,如咳嗽或打喷嚏后。
  • 洗手时应以梘液和清水清洁双手,搓手最少20秒,用水过清并用干净毛巾或抹手纸抹干。如没有洗手设施,或双手没有明显污垢时,使用含70至80%的酒精搓手液洁净双手亦为有效方法。正确洁手的方法可参阅以下网页: https://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/healthtopics/content/460/19728.html
  • 打喷嚏或咳嗽时应用纸巾掩盖口鼻,把用过的纸巾弃置于有盖垃圾箱内,然后彻底清洁双手。
  • 当出现呼吸道感染病征,应戴上外科口罩,不应上班或上学,避免前往人多挤逼的地方,及尽早向医生求诊。
  • 保持均衡饮食、恒常运动、充足休息,避免过度紧张、不要吸烟和避免饮酒,以建立良好身体抵抗力。

3. 保持良好的环境卫生

  • 经常清洁和消毒常接触的表面,如家俬、玩具和共用物件。使用1比99稀释家用漂白水(即把1份5.25%漂白水与99份清水混和)消毒,待15 -30分钟后,用水清洗并抹干。金属表面则可用70%火酒清洁消毒。
  • 用吸水力强的即弃抹巾清理可见的污物,如呼吸道分泌物,然后用1比49稀释家用漂白水(即把1份5.25%漂白水与49份清水混和)消毒被污染的地方及邻近各处,待15 - 30分钟后,用水清洗并抹干。金属表面则可用70%火酒清洁消毒。
  • 保持室内空气流通。避免前往人多挤逼或空气流通欠佳的公众地方;高危人士在这些地方逗留时可考虑佩戴外科口罩。

其他语言

印尼文版
Bahasa Indonesia
菲律宾文版
Tagalog
泰文版
ไทย
印度文版
हिन्दी
尼泊尔文版
नेपाली
巴基斯坦文版
اردو

 


网上资源