Skip to content

Measles

Measles

8 May 2019

Click here to view the thematic webpage of Measles

Causative agent

It is caused by a virus called Measles virus.

Clinical features

Measles was a common childhood infection prior to the introduction of measles vaccine. Affected persons will present initially with fever, cough, runny nose, red eyes and white spots inside the mouth. This is followed 3 to 7 days later by a red blotchy skin rash, which usually spreads from face to the rest of the body. The rash usually lasts 4 - 7 days, but can persist for up to 3 weeks leaving with brownish staining and sometimes fine skin peeling. In severe cases, lung, gut and brain can get involved and lead to serious consequences or even death.

Measles infection in pregnancy can result in adverse pregnancy outcomes, including pregnancy loss, preterm birth, and low birth weight, but there is no evidence to support an increased risk of congenital defects. Moreover, neonates who get infected because the mother had measles shortly around the period of delivery are at an increased risk of subacute sclerosing panencephalitis (a very rare but fatal disease of the central nervous system) in later life.

Mode of transmission

This can be transmitted airborne by droplet spread or by direct contact with nasal or throat secretions of infected persons, and less commonly, by articles soiled with nasal or throat secretions. Measles is one of the most highly communicable infectious diseases. The patient can pass the disease to other persons from 4 days before to 4 days after appearance of the rash.

Incubation period


It usually ranges from 7 - 18 days, but can be up to 21 days.

Management

Affected persons should avoid contact with non-immune persons, especially those with weakened immunity, pregnant women and infants. Although there is no specific treatment, drugs may be prescribed to reduce the symptoms and antibiotics may be used to treat bacterial complications.

Prevention

1. Maintain good personal hygiene

  • Perform hand hygiene frequently, especially before touching the mouth, nose or eyes, after touching public installations such as handrails or door knobs or when hands are contaminated by respiratory secretion after coughing or sneezing. Wash hands with liquid soap and water for at least 20 seconds, then dry with a disposable paper towel or hand dryer. When hands are not visibly soiled, clean them with 70 - 80% alcohol-based handrub as an effective alternative.
  • Cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when sneezing or coughing. Dispose of soiled tissues into a lidded rubbish bin, then wash hands thoroughly.
  • When having a fever, rash or respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly.
  • Persons infected with measles should stay at home; keep out of Schools/ Kindergartens/ Kindergartens-cum-Child Care Centres/ Child Care Centres/ Workplaces till 4 days from the appearance of rash to prevent spread of the infection to non-immune persons.

2. Maintain good environmental hygiene

  • Regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces such as furniture, toys and commonly shared items with 1:99 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 99 parts of water), leave for 15 – 30 minutes, and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
  • Use absorbent disposable towels to wipe away obvious contaminants such as respiratory secretions, and then disinfect the surface and neighbouring areas with 1:49 diluted household bleach (mixing 1 part of 5.25% bleach with 49 parts of water), leave for 15 – 30 minutes and then rinse with water and keep dry. For metallic surface, disinfect with 70% alcohol.
  • Maintain good indoor ventilation. Avoid going to crowded or poorly ventilated public places; high-risk individuals may consider putting on surgical masks while in such places.

3. Immunisation

  • Vaccination against measles is the most effective preventive measure. Under the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme, children receive a two-dose course of measles vaccination (Please refer to the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme).
  • Different places will develop different immunisation programmes in light of their epidemiological profiles. Parents should arrange their children to receive vaccines according to the local immunisation programme of their place of residence. For instance, children aged under one who frequently travel to or stay in the Mainland should follow the Mainland's schedule of measles immunisation with the first dose of measles containing vaccine at 8 months old, followed by another dose at 18 months.
  • All foreign domestic helpers (FDH) who are non-immune* to measles should receive Measles, Mumps and Rubella (MMR) vaccine, preferably before they arrive in Hong Kong. If this is not possible, they can consult a doctor after they have arrived in Hong Kong. Employment agencies can consider adding the assessment of immune status against measles or MMR vaccination for FDH as additional items in the pre-employment medical check-up package.
  • Pregnant women and women preparing for pregnancy should consult their doctor for advice if they are not sure whether they are immune to measles. Since measles-containing vaccines cannot be given during pregnancy, they are advised not to travel to areas with outbreaks or high incidence of measles if they are not immune to measles.
  • In general, the following individuals should NOT receive MMR vaccine^:
    1. serious allergic reaction to a previous dose of MMR vaccine or any component of the vaccine (e.g. gelatin or neomycin)
    2. individuals with severe immunosuppression from diseases or treatment (e.g. on current cancer treatment such as chemotherapy and radiotherapy, taking immunosuppressive medicines such as high dose corticosteroid, etc.)
    3. pregnancy#

*In general, people can be considered as non-immune to measles if (i) they did not have measles infection confirmed by laboratory test before, and (ii) they had not been fully vaccinated against measles or have unknown vaccination status.

^Medical advice should always be sought.

#In general, women should avoid pregnancy for three months after receipt of MMR vaccine and take appropriate contraceptive measure.

Other languages

Bahasa Indonesia Version
Bahasa Indonesia
Tagalog Version
Tagalog
Thai Version
ไทย
Hindi Version
हिन्दी
Nepali Version
नेपाली
Urdu Version
اردو

 


e-Resources

Skip to content

麻疹

麻疹

2019年5月8日

按此瀏覽麻疹專題網頁

病原體

麻疹由麻疹病毒所引起。

病徵

未有麻疹疫苗前,麻疹是一種普遍的兒童傳染病。受感染的人初時會發燒、咳嗽、流鼻水、眼紅及口腔內出現白點。3至7天後皮膚會出現污斑紅疹,通常會由面部擴散到全身,維持4至7天,亦可能長達3個星期,留下褐色斑痕或出現脫皮。病重者的呼吸系統、消化道及腦部會受影響,引致嚴重後果甚至死亡。

懷孕期間感染麻疹可能導致懷孕的不良影響,包括流產、早產及嬰兒出生時體重過輕等,然而並無證據顯示會增加嬰兒出現先天性缺陷的風險。此外,如孕婦於生產前後的短時間內感染麻疹,其受感染的初生嬰兒日後患「亞急性硬化性全腦炎」(一種非常罕見但可致命的神經系統疾病)的風險較高。


傳播途徑

麻疹可透過空氣中的飛沫或直接接觸病人的鼻喉分泌物而傳播,透過被鼻喉分泌物弄污的物件傳播的機會則較低。麻疹是一種高傳染性的疾病。病人從出疹前4天至出疹後4天內可把病傳染給別人。

潛伏期

麻疹的潛伏期一般為7至18天,但可長達21天。

治理方法

麻疹病人應避免與未有免疫力人士接觸,尤其是抵抗力弱人士、孕婦及未滿一歲的兒童。雖然現時未有特定療法,但可處方藥物紓緩病徵,亦可採用抗生素醫治由細菌引致的併發症。

預防方法

1. 保持良好的個人衞生
  • 經常保持雙手清潔,尤其在觸摸口、鼻或眼之前、觸摸扶手或門把等公共設施後,或當手被呼吸道分泌物污染時,如咳嗽或打噴嚏後。洗手時應以梘液和清水清洗最少20秒,其後用抺手紙或乾手機弄乾。當雙手沒有明顯污垢時,用含70 - 80%的酒精搓手液潔淨雙手亦為有效方法。
  • 打噴嚏或咳嗽時應用紙巾掩蓋口鼻,把用過的紙巾棄置於有蓋的垃圾箱內,然後徹底清潔雙手。
  • 若有發燒、出疹或呼吸道病徵,應戴上外科口罩,不應上班或上學,避免前往人多擠逼的地方,及盡早向醫生求診。
  • 患者在出疹後的4天內應留在家中休息,不應返回學校/幼稚園/幼稚園暨幼兒中心/幼兒中心/工作地點,避免將疾病傳染給未有免疫力的人。
2. 保持良好的環境衞生
  • 定期清潔和消毒常接觸的表面,如傢俬、玩具和共用物件。使用 1 比 99 稀釋家用漂白水(即把1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 99 份清水混和)消毒,待15 - 30分鐘後,用水清洗並抹乾。金屬表面則可用70%火酒清潔消毒。
  • 用吸水力強的即棄抹巾清理可見的污物,如呼吸道分泌物,然後用1 比 49 稀釋家用漂白水(即把 1 份 5.25% 漂白水與 49 份清水混和)消毒被污染的地方及鄰近各處,待15 - 30分鐘後,用水清洗並抹乾。金屬表面則可用70%火酒清潔消毒。
  • 保持室內空氣流通。避免前往人多擠逼或空氣流通欠佳的公眾地方;高危人士在這些地方逗留時可考慮佩戴外科口罩。

3. 免疫接種

  • 防疫注射是最有效預防麻疹的方法。在「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」下,兒童接種共兩劑含麻疹的疫苗。(請參閱「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」)
  • 不同國家會因應當地的流行病學而制定免疫注射計劃,家長應根據兒童長期居住地的免疫注射計劃為子女安排免疫接種。例如,經常往返或居於內地的1歲以下兒童應按內地免疫計劃,在8個月大時接種首劑麻疹疫苗,並於18個月大時接種另一劑。
  • 所有對麻疹未具備免疫力*的外籍家庭傭工都應接種麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹(MMR)混合疫苗,在抵港工作前接種更佳。如果未能及時接種,他們可以在抵港後諮詢醫生意見。僱傭機構可考慮將外籍家庭傭工對麻疹免疫力的評估或MMR混合疫苗接種加入職前身體檢查項目中。
  • 如孕婦及計劃懷孕的女士就個人是否對麻疹具備免疫力存有疑問,應該諮詢醫生的意見。由於在懷孕期間不適合接種含麻疹疫苗,若她們對麻疹沒有免疫力,便不應前往出現麻疹爆發或高發病率的地方。
  • 一般而言,以下人士不宜接種MMR混合疫苗^:
    1. 曾對MMR混合疫苗或其任何成份(例如明膠或新霉素)有嚴重的過敏反應
    2. 因疾病或治療而導致免疫功能受嚴重抑制的人士(例如正在接受化學治療[又稱「化療」]及放射治療[又稱「電療」]等抗癌治療、服用會令免疫功能降低的藥物如高劑量類固醇等)
    3. 孕婦#

*一般而言,以下人士均為對麻疹未具備免疫力:(i) 過往未曾經化驗確診感染麻疹;及(ii) 未完成麻疹疫苗接種或接種紀錄不明。

^應諮詢醫生意見

#一般而言,婦女在接種MMR混合疫苗後三個月內不宜懷孕,需採取妥善的避孕措施。

其他語言

印尼文版
Bahasa Indonesia
菲律賓文版
Tagalog
泰文版
ไทย
印度文版
हिन्दी
尼泊爾文版
नेपाली
巴基斯坦文版
اردو

 


網上資源