Text Size A A A Add to Favourite Printer Friendly  

Main Content

 

  Frequently Asked Questions

1. What kind of exercise is the most beneficial?

Personal interest should be one of the most important factors in choosing the exercise to do. It would be very difficult to make exercising a sustainable habit without an interest in the kind of exercise you are doing. Individual ability and medical history are also important when determining the right kind of exercise to do.


2. Is it necessary to put on sportswear when exercising? Do we need to have different apparel for different sports?

When doing exercise, we should pay attention to not only the clothing, but also the kind of shoes and socks to wear, as well as the equipment and accessories. Clothes should be absorbent and comfortable. Shoes should be chosen according to the kind of sports. There are many different kinds of sports shoes, e.g. running shoes, tennis shoes, volleyball shoes, basketball shoes and soccer boots. When running, for instance, you should choose a pair of running shoes which offer good shock absorption to reduce strain on feet.
You should pay attention to the protective equipment, too. For examples, helms should be worn when riding bicycles. When running at night, put on clothes with reflective panels. Plastic spectacles or goggles are necessary for sports like squash and tennis. Wear a hat when performing outdoor activities under intense sunshine.


3. What are the advantages of aerobic exercise?

Aerobic exercise enhances the functions of the heart and the lung and increases their endurance. This will allow the body to engage in longer and more intense activities, with reduced breathlessness and fatigue.


4. How long does the effect of exercise last?

Exercise is an indispensable part of healthy living. Therefore, regular exercise must be made a perpetual habit to achieve the desirable effects.


5. What physical activities are suitable for children?

For children and young people, physical activity includes play, games, sports, transportation, recreation, physical education, or planned exercise, in the context of family, school and community activities. Children and youth aged 5–17 should accumulate at least 60 minutes of moderate- to vigorous-intensity physical activity daily. Most of the daily physical activity should be aerobic. Vigorous-intensity activities should be incorporated, including those that strengthen muscle and bone, at least 3 times per week.


6. How to form the habit of exercising in children?

Parents may discuss with their children and come up with a timetable for exercising together.
Children like to imitate their parents, so parents should make themselves good role models for their children to follow. Parents should participate in extracurricular activities with their children and encourage them to do simple exercise every day, such as walking, rope skipping and running. Apart from that, they can also encourage their children to participate in regular physical activities, such as badminton, with their schoolmates or friends. This will help cultivate the interest in exercising, and develop the habit of regular exercise.


7. What exercise can help me to keep fit?

We need to perform adequate physical activities and consume a balanced diet. Extra fat in our body will reduce when our energy expenditure exceeds our energy intake.
We should perform more aerobic physical activities, such as brisk walking, jogging, cycling, swimming, hiking or ball game, in order to achieve larger energy expenditure.


8. What exercise can help me become more muscular?

Exercise that trains specific muscle groups, e.g. dumbbell lifting and fitness training with gym equipment, helps you to build a muscular body.


9. There are PE lessons in the curriculum. Do I still need to do more exercise?

There is only one or two sessions of PE class per week in the school timetable, and such a level of physical activities is not enough for teenagers. Teenagers should make good use of their spare time to do more exercise, e.g. stretching exercises in the morning, cycling, hiking and swimming on holidays, etc. The key is to make exercising an everyday habit and incorporate it into the daily life.


10. I am not used to doing exercise. How do I make an appropriate start?

First of all, increase your chance of doing physical activities in the daily life, e.g. walk more, use stairs more and help out with the chores. You should also reduce sedentary activities like TV watching, and take on more active leisure activities. Develop your persistence in exercising according to your fitness and interest. Take your time and increase your level of physical exercise gradually.


11. I am an office worker. What kind of exercise is good for me?

When you are on your way to work/back home:

  • Get off the public transport a few stops ahead of your destination and walk the rest of the way home.
  • Cycle to take the public transport or to your office.
  • Park your vehicle some distance away from your destination and walk the rest of the way.
At your lunchtime:
  • Have a walk after lunch and try a different route every day.
  • Go for a jog to energise yourself.
  • Do some simple exercises.
  • Form a group and work out to the music together.


12. Is there any exercise that is easy, fast, convenient and healthy?

First of all, increase your chance of doing physical activities in your daily life through ways such as more walking, more stair climbing and participating in more house chores. In office, you can stand while you are on the phone, use the stairs more and do stretching exercises during breaks. Apart from these activities, jogging, Tai Chi and various callisthenics for all in the family are easy, fast, convenient and healthy.


13. What are the ways to learn the proper ways of exercising?

You may consult relevant professionals or enrol for sports courses. You may also contact the District Offices of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department for the full range of sports training courses offered.

字型 A A A 加入此页为我的最爱 友善列印  

主要內容

 

 常见问题

1. 甚么运动最有益?

可因应个人的兴趣而选择。因为若对该项活动无兴趣的话,实难以持久参与并养成运动的习惯。另外要视乎个人的能力及病历,以拣选适合的运动。


2. 是否一定要穿运动服才可做运动?做不同的运动是否要有不同的装束?

运动时,不应只注重所穿的运动服,其实,在选择鞋袜及装备方面都应加以注意。运动衣服应以吸汗、舒适为主。进行跑步时,亦应穿上避震效力较大的跑步鞋,以减少脚部劳损。
保护装备也应多加注意,例如骑单车应戴上合适的头盔,在晚上跑步时应穿上反光衣服,打壁球、网球时也应戴上胶眼镜或眼罩。在阳光猛烈时进行户外活动,应戴上帽子。


3. 带氧运动有甚么好处?

带氧运动的好处是增强心肺功能,提高心肺耐力,这样,身体就可以从事更长时间、强度更高的活动,没有那么容易气喘而且较不易倦。


4. 运动的功效可维持多久?

运动是健康生活模式中不可缺少的一环,所以必须持之以恒,养成定时运动的习惯,运动才可收理想的果效。


5. 有甚么运动适合儿童?

儿童和青少年的体能活动包括在家庭、学校和小区中的玩耍、游戏、体育运动、交通往来、家务劳动、娱乐、体育课或有计划的锻炼等。世界卫生组织建议,5至17岁的儿童和青少年应每天累计至少有60分钟中等至剧烈强度的体能活动,而大多数日常体能活动应该是带氧活动。同时, 每周至少应进行3次剧烈强度的体能活动,包括强壮肌肉和骨骼的活动等。


6. 如何培养儿童运动的习惯?

家长可以和儿童商讨,共同订立一个运动时间表。
儿童喜欢模仿父母的习惯,所以家长应以身作则,为子女建立好榜样。家长应与子女一起参与课外活动,鼓励子女每天做一些简单的运动,如步行、跳绳、跑步等,也可鼓励子女与同学或朋友作定期运动,例如打羽毛球,以培养运动的兴趣及养成有规律的运动习惯。


7. 甚么运动可令我身材健美?

要减少身体内多余的脂肪,我们便需要多做运动和有健康均衡的饮食,以达到热量的消耗较吸收为多,使身体燃烧脂肪。运动方面,带氧运动,例如急步行、跑步、踏单车、游水、行山、各项球类运动等,有助消耗体内脂肪。


8. 甚么运动可令我身材健硕?

举哑铃、器械体操等锻炼局部肌肉发达的运动,可令你身材健硕。


9. 学校内已有体育课时间,我还须要做其他运动吗?

校内安排的体育课时间每星期只有一节或两节,对于青少年来说是不足够。青少年应该争取于课余多做运动,如每早做柔软体操,假日踏单车、远足、游泳等,让每天都有运动的习惯,使运动成为生活的一部份。


10. 我一向没有运动的习惯,如何开始做运动才恰当?

首先要在日常生活中提高活动机会,例如多走路、多用楼梯、多动手做家务等。同时要减少看电视等静态活动,并增加动态的消闲活动。要因应体能及兴趣,培养运动恒心,切勿急进,应按情况慢慢提高运动量。


11. 我从事文职工作,有甚么运动适合我?

上下班时:

  • 提早几个站下车,然后步行。
  • 骑单车往车站或办公地点。
  • 将座驾停泊在与目的地有一段距离的地方,然后步行。
午膳时:
  • 午膳后散步,尽量每天尝试不同的路线。
  • 出外跑步,令自己活力充沛。
  • 做些简单的运动。
  • 组织一个小组,随音乐节拍做运动。


12. 有没有简单、快捷、方便又有益的运动呢?

首先要在日常生活中提高活动机会,例如多走路,多用楼梯,多动手做家务等。在办公室内可以站起来用电话,同时多走楼梯,小歇时可做些舒展筋骨的伸展运动。缓步跑、太极及各种家庭普及体操等活动,既简单、快捷、方便又有益。


13. 有甚么途径可以学习正确的运动方法呢?

可请教专业人士有关的运动的资料或参加运动班等;亦可向康乐及文化事务处各区办事处查询各运动训练课程。